The Midnights (Hardcover)

By Sarah Nicole Smetana

HarperTeen, 9780062644626, 416pp.

Publication Date: March 6, 2018

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

This voice-driven coming-of-age YA novel is perfect for fans of Katie Cotugno and Playlist for the Dead.

Susannah Hayes has never been in the spotlight, but she dreams of following her father, a former rock star, onto the stage. As senior year begins, she’s more interested in composing impressive chord patterns than college essays, certain that if she writes the perfect song, her father might finally look up from the past long enough to see her. But when he dies unexpectedly, her dreams—and her reality—shatter.

While Susannah struggles with grief, her mother uproots them to a new city. There, Susannah realizes she can reinvent herself however she wants: a confident singer-songwriter, member of a hip band, embraced by an effortlessly cool best friend. But Susannah is not the only one keeping secrets, and soon, harsh revelations threaten to unravel her life once again.

Set against the scintillating landscape of Southern California, The Midnights is an evocative coming-of-age debut about loss, creativity, and finding your voice while you’re still finding yourself.



About the Author

Sarah Nicole Smetana received her BFA in Creative Writing from Chapman University and her MFA in Fiction from the New School. Originally from Orange, California, she now lives in Brooklyn with her husband and their three-legged cat. Visit her online at www.sarahnicolesmetana.com.


Praise For The Midnights

“A stunning, beautifully-written debut, THE MIDNIGHTS explores the complex nature of loss, grief, secrets, and family, as we follow one girl on a poignant journey of self-discovery.”
— Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be

The Midnights is a fiercely beautiful song of a book. This story won’t leave your heart.”
— Jeff Zentner, Morris Award winning author of The Serpent King

“a thoughtful, literary first book. Fans of character-driven coming-of-age stories will find all they could want and more.”
— Booklist

“An atmospheric voyage through grief and self-discovery perfect for fans of Julie Buxbaum’s Tell Me Three Things and Tim Federle’s The Great American Whatever.”
— School Library Journal

“A touching…story about the painful process of moving on.”
— Kirkus Reviews