All the Things We Never Knew (Hardcover)

By Liara Tamani

Greenwillow Books, 9780062656919, 384pp.

Publication Date: June 9, 2020

List Price: 18.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

“Masterfully bounces and slams two hearts up and down a shrouded court of first love and revelations. A hard-to-put-down backboard-breaker.”—Rita Williams-Garcia, National Book Award Finalist and New York Times–bestselling author

From the moment Carli and Rex first locked eyes on a Texas high school basketball court, they both knew it was destiny. But can you truly love someone else if you don’t love yourself?

Acclaimed author Liara Tamani’s luminous second novel explores love, family, heartbreak, betrayal, and the power of healing, in gorgeous prose that will appeal to readers of Nicola Yoon and Jacqueline Woodson.

A glance was all it took. That kind of connection, the immediate and raw understanding of another person, just doesn’t come along very often. And as rising stars on their Texas high schools’ respective basketball teams, destined for bright futures in college and beyond, it seems like a match made in heaven. But Carli and Rex have secrets. As do their families.

Liara Tamani, the author of the acclaimed Calling My Name, follows two Black teenagers as they discover how first love, heartbreak, betrayal, and family can shape you—for better or for worse. A novel full of pain, joy, healing, and hope for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jacqueline Woodson, and Jenny Han.

“A beautifully poignant love letter: to a first love, to basketball, and to that enigmatic bunch we think we know best, only to discover we don’t know at all—family. Tamani’s latest is a bright shining star.”—David Arnold, New York Times–bestselling author of Mosquitoland

"Readers will be easily swept away by this tale exploring the hearts and souls of two emotionally vulnerable athletes." (Publishers Weekly, "An Anti-Racist Children's and YA Reading List")   



About the Author

Liara Tamani lives in Houston, Texas. She holds an MFA in writing from Vermont College. She is the author of the acclaimed Calling My Name, which was a 2018 PEN America Literary Award Finalist and a 2018 SCBWI Golden Kite Finalist, and All the Things We Never Knew. www.liaratamani.com



Praise For All the Things We Never Knew

“Two promising Texas basketball players navigate the ups and downs of first love. . . . Funny, smart, and unflinchingly candid. . . . A superb, complex romance full of heart, humor, and unforgettable characters.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Through poetic, economic prose and alternating points of view, Tamani evokes myriad emotions . . . Readers will be easily swept away by this tale exploring the hearts and souls of two emotionally vulnerable athletes.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Tamani masterfully bounces and slams two hearts up and down a shrouded court of first love and revelations. A hard-to-put-down backboard breaker.”
— Rita Williams-Garcia, National Book Award finalist and New York Times–bestselling author

“A beautifully poignant love letter: to a first love, to basketball, and to that enigmatic bunch we think we know best, only to discover we don’t know at all—family. Tamani’s latest is a bright shining star.”
— David Arnold, New York Times–bestselling author of Mosquitoland

“Liara Tamani’s All the Things We Never Knew is a bighearted, beautiful exploration of fate, family, and the glorious magic of love.”
— Elana K. Arnold, National Book Award Finalist and Printz Honor winner

“[Tamani’s characters] experience their first love, struggle through polarizing feelings about basketball, and witness the consequences of hiding secrets. . . . A deep dive into the glory and mess of new relationships . . . Engaging.”
— School Library Journal

“Carli and Rex have promising basketball careers ahead of them, but their whirlwind romance is challenged by loss, grief and the pressure to succeed. All the Things We Never Knew offers a raw, honest portrait of the bond between two teens on and off the court.”
— BookPage

“A masterpiece of a book . . . [and] a poignant love story . . . Tamani’s characters are well drawn, her prose is gorgeous, and the imagery is lush. All The Things We Never Knew is a novel that will take readers on a deep dive of what it means to fall in love and grow as a person amidst turmoil.”
— Booklist Online

“Utterly relatable . . . Instantaneous fireworks soon lead to a deeper journey of self-discovery . . . Rex and Carli’s romance — told through tight, dueling point-of-view chapters — will stick with you.”
— Austin American Statesman

“Liara Tamani offers a deeply layered portrait of young love in her dazzling All the Things We Never Knew. She captures both the adrenaline rush of all-encompassing emotion and the deeper joys of being seen for who you truly are. . . . All the Things We Never Knew should cement her star status.”
— Austin American Statesman (Entertainment & Life)