Skip to main content


This Is It

Daria Peoples-Riley, Daria Peoples-Riley (Illustrator)

Hardcover

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Daria Peoples-Riley’s debut picture book is a celebration of individuality, self-expression, and dance. Fans of Misty Copeland’s Firebird and Matt de la Peña’s Last Stop on Market Street will want to read it over and over again.

When a young dancer is nervous about her upcoming auditions, her shadow springs to life and leads her on a joyous exploration of their city. Soon enough, the young girl finds confidence in her skills, her body, and her ability to shine.

With an energetic, rhythmic text that begs to be read aloud and striking, exuberant artwork, This Is It is a love story to originality and the simple joy of movement.

The future is in your footsteps.

Freedom is in your feet.

Put one foot in front of the other,

and greet your destiny.



Praise For This Is It

“A spunky, endearingly gawky girl leaps across the cityscape on the cover of this simple, but profound picture book about being brave and taking chances. ...This well-crafted book celebrates the joy of dance and shows a girl gaining confidence in herself—an important message for all children.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

“[A] delightful tale. ...this story showcases [dance’s] ability to instill grace and poise in the protagonist while also helping her to discover inner strength and resilience. A beautiful tribute to the power of dance that is a must-read for younger aspiring ballerinas.”
Kirkus Reviews

“A joyful celebration of dance that also reminds readers that doing something well requires hard work. ...The book opens and closes with the same advice, which is true for all endeavors: “Stand up tall, arch your back, hold your head high.” Pair with Misty Copeland’s Firebird.”
Booklist

“Peoples-Riley’s free-verse narrative has the force and drive of spoken-word poetry and echoes the energy of her stylized and graceful mixed-media art, which casts the girl as a star, even if she doesn’t know it.”
Publishers Weekly

“Thoughtful placement emphasizes the rhythm and affectionate tone of the rhyming second-person text. ...Like the illustrations the text comes full circle in a refrain of its first lines, with the addition of one last exhortation to the girl to seize this opportunity: “THIS. IS. IT.”
— The Horn Book

Greenwillow Books, 9780062657763, 40pp.

Publication Date: February 6, 2018



About the Author

During the course of her education, Daria Peoples-Riley seldom felt loved as a student of color. Over the years, she got tired of waiting for things to change and decided to do something about it. She hopes her books will bring schools and families together to create action plans, repair harm, and prevent race-based trauma from ever happening again.

Daria Peoples-Riley is the author and illustrator of the picture books This Is It
and I Got Next, and the illustrator of Gloria Takes a Stand, by Jessica M. Rinker. She lives with her family in Las Vegas, Nevada. www.dariapeoples.com



During the course of her education, Daria Peoples-Riley seldom felt loved as a student of color. Over the years, she got tired of waiting for things to change and decided to do something about it. She hopes her books will bring schools and families together to create action plans, repair harm, and prevent race-based trauma from ever happening again.

Daria Peoples-Riley is the author and illustrator of the picture books This Is It
and I Got Next, and the illustrator of Gloria Takes a Stand, by Jessica M. Rinker. She lives with her family in Las Vegas, Nevada. www.dariapeoples.com