The Final Six (Hardcover)

By Alexandra Monir

Harper Teen, 9780062658944, 352pp.

Publication Date: March 6, 2018

Advertisement

Description

Set in the near future, this action-packed YA novel--already optioned by Sony Pictures--will take readers out of this world and on a quest to become one of six teens sent on a mission to Jupiter's moon. This is the next must-read for fans of Illuminae and The Martian.

When Leo, an Italian championship swimmer, and Naomi, a science prodigy from California, are two of the twenty-four teens drafted into the International Space Training Camp, their lives are forever altered.

After erratic climate change has made Earth a dangerous place to live, the fate of the population rests on the shoulders of the final six, who will be scouting a new planet. Intense training, global scrutiny, and cutthroat opponents are only a few of the hurdles the competitors must endure.

For Leo, the prospect of traveling to Europa--Jupiter's moon--to help resettle humankind is the sense of purpose he's been yearning for since losing his entire family in the flooding of Rome. Naomi, on the other hand, suspects the ISTC isn't being up front with them about what's at risk.

As the race to the final six advances, the tests get more challenging--even deadly. With pressure mounting, Naomi finds an unexpected friend in Leo, and the two grow closer with each mind-boggling experience they encounter.

But it's only when the finalists become fewer and their destinies grow nearer that the two can fathom the full weight of everything at stake: the world, the stars, and their lives.

Advertisement