Good Karma (Paperback)

A Novel

By Christina Kelly

Harper Paperbacks, 9780062659705, 336pp.

Publication Date: June 6, 2017

List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A charming, heartfelt tale of love lost and regained in a gated community in Savannah, Georgia.

After almost forty years in New Jersey, Catherine, Ralph, and their beloved Boston Terrier Karma are hitting the road, relocating to a gorgeous, serene island off the coast of Savannah, Georgia, where Catherine can work on her backhand and Ralph can hit the links. But upon their arrival in the Seven Oaks gated community, it becomes apparent that Catherine and Ralph’s visions of retirement couldn’t be more different. While Catherine is intrigued by their quirky neighbors, Ralph’s golf-and-poker routine seems to be interrupted only by his flirtations with their zealous real estate agent.

As the pair drift further apart, Catherine cannot help but sense her marriage is at risk. Then, she meets recent widower Fred at the dog park. United by their dogs, they embark upon a friendship that could be something more—until she discovers that he’s not quite what he seems. As she sorts out fact from fiction and discovers what sorts of secrets might be hiding behind Seven Oaks’ pristine picket fences, she’ll have to make a decision affecting her future happiness and her chance at newfound love.



About the Author

Christina Kelly is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and an occasional contributor to the New York Times crossword section. A native of Westchester, New York, she now lives with her husband in Savannah. Good Karma is her first novel.



Praise For Good Karma: A Novel

“Christina Kelly’s charming debut novel examines the heart of a long-married woman who, uprooted from the familiar, finds herself foundering, but finally flourishing in her new Savannah home, with a well-deserved second chance at love.”
— Mary Kay Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of THE WEEKENDERS and BEACH TOWN

“Delightful. . . . Filled with heart and humor, it’s a coming-of-age tale for the over-50 set.”
Savannah Magazine

“Normal dogs and abnormal people provide an entertaining glimpse of lives in transition in Good Karma. This charming novel is full of unique characters with twists and turns I did not see coming!”
— W. Bruce Cameron, New York Times bestselling author of A Dog's Way Home and A Dog's Purpose
Good Karma is witty and original, demonstrating Kelly’s novel-writing ability, representing major issues confronting older people who may be retiring, commencing new lives and, perhaps, even moving away. . . . In this fast-paced debut novel, she has expertly strung it all together into chapters of sparkling character development and uncannily accurate and entertaining dialogue. These characters are quirky, lovable and also excellent representations of who we all may be or people we will meet in the unpredictable and eclectic world of retirement. . . . This novel brings retirement to a new level of excitement and fun where characters suddenly ‘get out of their life a bit,’ as Amity puts it. The action-packed finale will have you out of the chair and cheering.”
— The Berkshire Eagle

Good Karma is a fast-paced, funny, great good fortune of a novel that has it all: a love story, a mystery, eccentrics, adorable dogs, and even an alligator. Christina Kelly has a talent for touching our hearts even as she has us falling off the sofa with laughter.”
— Nancy Thayer, New York Times bestselling author of Secrets in Summer

“Christina Kelly’s heartwarming novel peels away the layers of the Seven Oaks retirement community to reveal the many secrets roiling below its surface. A wonderful cast of characters—including the chatty spirit of a recently departed resident, a matchmaking Great Dane, and a mysterious woman with a penchant for trespassing—adds up to a surprising, wise, and romantic debut!”
— Meg Donohue, USA Today bestselling author of Dog Crazy and How to Eat a Cupcake

“A charming debut where Southern-spiced humor, quirky characters, a disembodied spirit, and furry friends come together in a story that proves a retirement community can be anything but boring.”
— Beth Hoffman, New York Times bestselling author of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and Looking for Me

“Quirky and entertaining. A cleverly written reminder that it’s never too late to fall in love or become the person you’re meant to be.”
— Wendy Wax, USA Today bestselling author of One Good Thing

“Humans and canines alike will delight and entertain readers in Kelly’s quirky debut. . . . Fans of Dorothea Benton Frank and Mary Kay Andrews will enjoy this witty and relevant novel filled with peculiar yet charming characters, and even more charming dogs.”
Booklist

Good Karma is a good debut by a good new author about so much more than a good dog.  Readers will treasure it.”
— C.J. Box, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Paradise Valley   C.J. Box, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Paradise Valley   C.J. Box, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Paradise Vall

“Happy wordplay spices almost every page.  Meaning that Good Karma is more than just enjoyable.  It’s that rare book that is fun.  Actually fun.”

— Eric Burns, bestselling author and former correspondent for NBC News and the TODAY Show