Nothing (Hardcover)

By Annie Barrows

Greenwillow Books, 9780062668233, 224pp.

Publication Date: September 5, 2017

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

“Remarkable.”—New York Times Book Review

From Annie Barrows, the acclaimed #1 New York Times–bestselling coauthor of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and the author of the award-winning and bestselling Ivy + Bean books, this teen debut tells the story of Charlotte and Frankie, two high school students and best friends who don’t have magical powers, fight aliens, crash their cars, get pierced, or discover they are royal. They just go to school. And live at home. With their parents. A great read for fans of Becky Albertalli, Louise Rennison, and Adi Alsaid.

Nothing ever happens to Charlotte and Frankie. Their lives are nothing like the lives of the girls they read about in their YA novels. They don’t have flowing red hair, and hot romantic encounters never happen—let alone meeting a true soul mate. They just go to high school and live at home with their parents, who are pretty normal, all things considered.

But when Charlotte decides to write down everything that happens during their sophomore year—to prove that nothing happens and there is no plot or character development in real life—she’s surprised to find that being fifteen isn’t as boring as she thought. It’s weird, heartbreaking, silly, and complicated. And maybe, just perfect.



About the Author

Annie Barrows is a middle-aged lady who doesn’t talk very much, which is why none of the kids who hang out in her house noticed that she was writing down everything they said. She’s like a ninja, except she’s never killed anyone. Okay, okay, she’s also the author of the Ivy + Bean books—remember them? They were fun!—and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. All of which were New York Times bestsellers, if you care about that kind of thing. www.anniebarrows.com



Praise For Nothing

“Barrows captures the highs and lows of her characters’ emotional lives with remarkable feeling, revealing how even the most joined-at-the-hip BFFs inevitably have secrets and resentments. ...Spending time with these two is a lovely, low-key pleasure.”
— New York Times Book Review

“A charming novel about the daily ups and downs of school, love interests, friends, families, and social media. Barrows turns her keen observational eye toward teenagers, and the results are authentic and funny...Check out this book.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“In her first work for teens, Barrows writes a realistic story about girls growing up in a suburban California town. Char and Frankie hang out...and think about kissing, growing up, taking chances, and feeling awkward. ...readers will love [Charlotte’s] brash honesty.”
— Publishers Weekly

“This innocently edgy but ultimately provocative novel...is about nothing and everything. ...Their search for meaning is palpable.”
— San Francisco Chronicle

“The ‘Nothing’ girls have more going on than they would like. ...writing down your everyday experiences, whether in book, journal, or some other form can encourage even those people most bored with life to come out of their shell and discover truths that they never saw coming.”
— YA Books Central

“Barrows, author of the Ivy + Bean chapter book series, has a knack for female friendships, and Charlotte and Frankie are a memorable pair.”
— The Horn Book