Hidden Pieces (Hardcover)

A Novel

By Paula Stokes

HarperTeen, 9780062673626, 448pp.

Publication Date: August 28, 2018

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A small town. A big secret. A deadly game.

From the author of Liars, Inc., comes a dark, contemporary thriller with twists and turns that are perfect for fans of We Were Liars, Little Monsters, and One of Us Is Lying.

Embry Woods has secrets. Some are small, like the ones about her complicated past. Others are bigger, like her growing feelings for best friend’s ex-boyfriend, Holden. But the biggest secret she carries is about what they did at the abandoned Sea Cliff Inn...and the resulting terrible fire.

Embry helps a homeless man escape from the flames and is immediately hailed as a hero, but she knows that couldn't be further from the truth. Though she’s wracked with guilt, Embry thinks she can take one last secret to her grave.

But then she receives an anonymous note—someone else was there that night. Now she must respond to a series of threatening messages asking her to make impossible choices.

Someone is playing a high-stakes game with her life. And their last move is murder.



About the Author

Paula Stokes is the author of Hidden Pieces; This Is How It Happened; Girl Against the Universe; Liars, Inc.; and The Art of Lainey. Paula lives in Portland, Oregon. You can find her online at www.authorpaulastokes.com or on Twitter and Instagram @pstokesbooks.



Praise For Hidden Pieces: A Novel

“Stokes makes the landscape an integral part of the story. Characters, even minor ones, are well developed, as are the subplots. With overtones of Lois Duncan’s I Know What You Did Last Summer (1973), this has the OMG quality that makes you afraid to wonder what will happen next.”
— Booklist (starred review)

“A character-driven mystery perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Deb Caletti.”
— School Library Journal

“Intriguing mystery.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“The twisty thriller is an enjoyable ride. The nail-biting conclusion includes a shocking surprise; readers will likely gasp when the identity of “Unknown” is revealed.”
— Publishers Weekly