New Kid (Paperback)

By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)

HarperCollins, 9780062691194, 256pp.

Publication Date: February 5, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (2/5/2019)
Compact Disc (2/5/2019)
MP3 CD (2/5/2019)
Compact Disc (2/5/2019)

List Price: 12.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Spring 2019 Kids Indie Next List

New Kid tackles diversity and inclusion with humor and charm. Jordan Banks wants to go to art school, but his mother sends him to Riverdale, a predominantly white private school, to increase his opportunities. Jordan teams up with Liam and Drew and along the way starts to enjoy himself. Craft uses pop culture parody references to start each chapter and includes drawings by Jordan throughout the book. The graphic novel format is perfect for a kid who loves art and also serves to take the story deeper as the pictures add another layer. Highly recommended for new kids and old ones!”
— Kathy Burnette, The Brain Lair, South Bend, IN
View the List

Description

Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang, New Kid is a timely, honest graphic novel about starting over at a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real, from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft.

Seventh grader Jordan Banks loves nothing more than drawing cartoons about his life. But instead of sending him to the art school of his dreams, his parents enroll him in a prestigious private school known for its academics, where Jordan is one of the few kids of color in his entire grade.

As he makes the daily trip from his Washington Heights apartment to the upscale Riverdale Academy Day School, Jordan soon finds himself torn between two worlds—and not really fitting into either one. Can Jordan learn to navigate his new school culture while keeping his neighborhood friends and staying true to himself?



About the Author

Jerry Craft is an author and illustrator who has worked on numerous picture books, graphic novels, and middle grade novels, including The Zero Degree Zombie Zone by Patrik Henry Bass. Jerry is the creator of Mama’s Boyz, an award-winning syndicated comic strip. He has won five African American Literary Awards, and he is a cofounder of the Schomburg Center’s Annual Black Comic Book Festival. He received his BFA from the School of Visual Arts and now lives in Connecticut. Visit him online at www.jerrycraft.net.

Jerry Craft is an author and illustrator who has worked on numerous picture books, graphic novels, and middle grade novels, including The Zero Degree Zombie Zone by Patrik Henry Bass. Jerry is the creator of Mama’s Boyz, an award-winning syndicated comic strip. He has won five African American Literary Awards, and he is a cofounder of the Schomburg Center’s Annual Black Comic Book Festival. He received his BFA from the School of Visual Arts and now lives in Connecticut. Visit him online at www.jerrycraft.net.


Praise For New Kid

“Funny, sharp, and totally real! Jordan Banks is the kid everyone will be talking about!”
— Jeff Kinney, Author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid

★“Possibly one of the most important graphic novels of the year.”
— Booklist (starred review)

★“An engrossing, humorous, and vitally important graphic novel that should be required reading in every middle school in America.”
— Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

★“This is more than a story about being the new kid—it’s a complex examination of the micro- and macroaggressions that Jordan endures from classmates and teachers. Highly recommended for all middle grade shelves.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

★“This engaging story offers an authentic secondary cast and captures the high jinks of middle schoolers and the tensions that come with being a person of color in a traditionally white space.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

★ “Award-winning author/illustrator Jerry Craft confronts elitism, microaggression, racism, socioeconomic disparity and white privilege in a familiar setting. His preteen audiences will undoubtedly recognize and empathize with Craft’s memorable cast.”
— Shelf Awareness, (starred review)

“Craft’s full-color comics art is dynamic and expressive. This school story stands out as a robust, contemporary depiction of a preteen navigating sometimes hostile spaces yet staying true to himself thanks to friends, family, and art.”
— Horn Book Magazine

“Genuine characters propel this funny, warm, biting, fearless story. Entertaining and insightful, it will surely offer affirmation for some readers, revelation for others.”
— Cooperative Children’s Book Center

New Kid is at once tender and tough, funny and heartbreaking. Hand this to the middle-grade reader in your life right away.”
— The New York Times Book Review

“An honest and compelling read for any kid looking for a place to belong.”
— Scholastic Teacher Magazine