Drum Roll, Please (Hardcover)

By Lisa Jenn Bigelow

HarperCollins, 9780062791146, 320pp.

Publication Date: June 26, 2018

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat in this big-hearted middle grade novel. Not to be missed by fans of Raina Telgemeier's Drama and Tim Federle's Better Nate Than Ever!

Melly only joined the school band because her best friend, Olivia, begged her to. But to her surprise, quiet Melly loves playing the drums. It’s the only time she doesn’t feel like a mouse. Now she and Olivia are about to spend the next two weeks at Camp Rockaway, jamming under the stars in the Michigan woods.

But this summer brings a lot of big changes for Melly: her parents split up, her best friend ditches her, and Melly finds herself unexpectedly falling for another girl at camp. To top it all off, Melly’s not sure she has what it takes to be a real rock n’ roll drummer. Will she be able to make music from all the noise in her heart?

Ami Polonsky, acclaimed author of Gracefully Grayson, raved, "Drum Roll, Please is a perfect middle-grade love story. Bigelow delivers a mighty message to turn up the volume on your inner drumbeat."



About the Author

Lisa Jenn Bigelow grew up in Kalamazoo and still considers the Mitten State home. Lisa’s young adult novel, Starting from Here, was named a Rainbow List Top Ten Book by the American Library Association. Drum Roll, Please is her middle grade debut. When she isn’t writing, she serves as a youth librarian in the Chicago suburbs. Visit her online at www.lisajennbigelow.com.


Praise For Drum Roll, Please

Drum Roll, Please is a perfect middle-grade love story. Bigelow artfully captures the complexity of middle-school relationships and, with a gentle hand, delivers a mighty message to turn up the volume on your inner drumbeat.”
— Ami Polonsky, author of Gracefully Grayson and Threads

★ “Fun and substantial, readable and empowering, this is a master class in balancing real issues with a light-hearted tone. Bigelow’s compassionate take on the topics of family, friendship, and first romance hits all the right notes. A perfect summer read for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer Holm.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

★ “In a story about growing pains, turning points, and self-discovery, Bigelow shows a clear understanding of young adolescent emotions. Melly’s responses to situations are authentic, especially the excitement and confusion she feels when she is attracted to another female camper. Bigelow has a graceful and genuine touch.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Melly is a memorable, relatable character, and Bigelow tells her funny, heartfelt story with a lively blend of emotional moments. Readers looking for an entertaining camp story, as well as fans of Victoria Jamieson’s Roller Girl or the Lumberjanes series, will get a kick out of this empowering book.”
— ALA Booklist

“Melly is a complex blend of anger, curiosity, and creativity, appealingly laying her emotions bare for readers. Fresh and exhilarating, a welcome addition to the growing middle-grade genre of girls who like girls.”
— Kirkus Reviews