A Dangerous Duet (Paperback)

A Novel

By Karen Odden

William Morrow Paperbacks, 9780062796967, 416pp.

Publication Date: November 6, 2018

Other Editions of This Title:
Compact Disc (11/6/2018)
Compact Disc (11/6/2018)
MP3 CD (11/6/2018)

List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

This dazzling new Victorian mystery from USA Today bestselling author Karen Odden introduces readers to Nell Hallam, a determined young pianist who stumbles upon the operations of a notorious—and deadly—crime ring while illicitly working as the piano player in a Soho music hall. Perfect for readers of Tasha Alexander, Anne Perry, and Deanna Raybourn.

Nineteen-year-old Nell Hallam lives in a modest corner of Mayfair with her brother Matthew, an inspector at Scotland Yard. An exceptionally talented pianist, she aspires to attend the Royal Academy; but with tuition beyond their means, Nell sets out to earn the money herself—by playing piano in a popular Soho music hall. And the fact that she will have to disguise herself as a man and slip out at night to do it doesn’t deter her.

Spending evenings at the Octavian is like entering an alternate world, one of lively energy, fascinating performers, raucous patrons—and dark secrets. And when Nell stumbles upon the operations of an infamous crime ring working in the shadows of the music hall, she is drawn into a conspiracy that stretches the length of London. To further complicate matters, she has begun to fall for the hall owner's charismatic son, Jack, who has secrets of his own.

The more Nell becomes a part of the Octavian’s world, the more she risks the relationships with the people she loves. And when another performer is left for dead in an alley as a warning, she realizes her future could be in jeopardy in more ways than one.



About the Author

KAREN ODDEN received her PhD in English literature from New York University and has taught at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and the University of Michigan-Ann Arbor. She currently serves as an assistant editor for the academic journal Victorian Literature and Culture. Her debut novel, A Lady in the Smoke, was a USA Today bestseller.


Praise For A Dangerous Duet: A Novel

“Enter a world of teeming and dangerous cities portrayed in vitality and amazing detail. Meet characters with tremendous courage and appetite for life, and be glad you can return at will to the present.”
Anne Perry, New York Times bestselling author

“A captivating tale of mystery, history, and a dash of romance—with an ahead-of-her-time heroine who not only plays the piano with aplomb, but defies Victorian conventions, courts danger, and solves mysteries. Nell Hallam is a heroine to root for.”
Susan Elia MacNeal, author of the New York Times bestselling Maggie Hope series

“With a delightful and spirited heroine—and just the right blend of suspense, detection, and romance—A DANGEROUS DUET offers a vivid tapestry of Victorian England, replete with dazzling music halls, intrepid police inspectors, and a menacing underworld.”

Stefanie Pintoff, Edgar Award winning author

“Set in London in 1875, this well-researched novel from Odden offers plenty of period detail, a sweet love story, and a plucky heroine.”
— Publishers Weekly

“Historical fiction with a sinister twist and an engaging heroine.”
G.M. Malliet, Agatha Award-winning author of the St. Just and Max Tudor mystery series

“The headstrong and engaging Nell evokes Victoria Thompson’s Sarah Brandt and Tasha Alexander’s Lady Emily Ashton.”
— Booklist

“Odden blends a knowledge of music and the Victoria era in creating a mystery/romance novel that transports readers to the great city of London...Readers of the very popular Anne Perry mystery novels may want to take a peek at Karen Odden’s great addition to the Victorian mystery genre.”
— Iron Mountain Daily News

“Authentically researched and swift-moving tale of a gifted pianist who bravely disregards the specter of inheritable mental illness as she pursues her musical ambitions and plunges herself into a dangerous investigation of gang robbery and murder. With a touch of romance to spice things up!”
— Rosemary Simpson, author of What the Dead Leave Behind