Can Cat and Bird Be Friends? (Hardcover)

By Coll Muir, Coll Muir (Illustrator)

HarperCollins, 9780062865939, 32pp.

Publication Date: June 25, 2019

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Cats and birds can’t be friends! They have absolutely nothing in common. After all, cats are supposed to eat birds, not play with them!

But there’s something special about this prey-and-predator pair…and they may just find that it’s our differences that bring us closer together.

In a delightful picture book filled with pleasing banter and hilarious quips, rising talent Coll Muir creates the perfect unlikely friendship between unexpected creatures.

Perfect for fans of Jon Klassen’s I Want My Hat Back, This Is Not My Hat, and We Found a Hat.



About the Author

Coll Muir is a London-based illustrator and writer of children’s books. After graduating from Edinburgh College of Art, he worked in the film and television industry. He has created characters for the British children’s comic books The Beano and The Dandy. When he isn’t writing or illustrating, he and his wife like to go on painting trips together. Visit Coll at www.collmuir.com



Coll Muir is a London-based illustrator and writer of children’s books. After graduating from Edinburgh College of Art, he worked in the film and television industry. He has created characters for the British children’s comic books The Beano and The Dandy. When he isn’t writing or illustrating, he and his wife like to go on painting trips together. Visit Coll at www.collmuir.com



Praise For Can Cat and Bird Be Friends?

“Muir’s visually playful and astute volume suggests that no matter the species, becoming friends takes work—a delicate blend of thinly veiled negotiations and leaps of faith, with a soupçon of the serendipitous.”
— Publishers Weekly

“Simple but effective, this book will appeal to little listeners who are themselves
figuring out how to approach new friends, though it could certainly work for older (even grown-up) readers, too.”
— Booklist

“The speech-only text, repetition, and spare, funny prose make this a treat for beginning readers, but picture-book audiences will relish the goofy friendship story as well.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“This hits the sweet spot for dry humor that’s still kid accessible...”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Interesting take on teaching young children to be friends, even with those most unlikely.”
— School Library Journal

“A lovely addition to any public library.”
— School Library Journal