Skip to main content
Cover for Master of Souls (Kingdom of Souls #3)

Master of Souls (Kingdom of Souls #3)

Rena Barron

Hardcover

List Price: 18.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (4/10/2023)

Description

Immortal magic, shocking twists, and star-crossed romance collide in the electrifying conclusion to Rena Barron’s epic YA fantasy trilogy, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone, Raybearer, and Strange the Dreamer. 

A king with a score to settle. 

A demon sowing rebellion. 

A girl who holds the power of the gods. 

Arrah has sacrificed almost everything in her battle against the Demon King. Now, forced to give up the gift of magic she’d sought for so long, she must decipher the legacy of her past life as the orisha Dimma—and weave an uneasy alliance between her beloved Rudjek, the Demon King, and the remaining orishas, hoping to restore peace to all of their worlds. But as Arrah’s half-demon sister resumes her quest for destruction, peace may require the ultimate sacrifice.… 

Set in a richly imagined world inspired by whispered tales of voodoo and folk magic, this thrilling, high-stakes finale to the Kingdom of Souls trilogy will captivate readers who love Namina Forna and Sabaa Tahir. 

“I couldn’t get enough of Kingdom of Souls. Wonderfully written, and full of dark magic and danger, it was a story I couldn’t wait to escape into. Highly recommended!”—Kendare Blake, #1?New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series



Praise For Master of Souls (Kingdom of Souls #3)

Praise for Reaper of Souls: ★“Romance, magic, and strategic diplomacy come at a pace that offers no time to look back. Hand this to lovers of kingdom fantasy. It’s sure to please.” — Booklist (starred review)

“Barron once more expertly paces her plot twists. This novel continues the epic proportions of the last in another high stakes West African–inspired fantasy where anyone, even the orishas, can die.”
Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“This story, with its remarkably well-spun plot twists, is a satisfying, fast-paced, and almost brutal sequel. Intense, raw, real, and sure to please.”
Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Kingdom of Souls: “Magnetic and addictive, Kingdom of Souls turns ambition into sacrifice and blood into power. Magic is always worth the price—and the pain—and this book is black girl magic at its finest.” — Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times  bestselling author of The Belles

“I couldn’t get enough of Kingdom of Souls. Wonderfully written, and full of dark magic and danger, it was a story I couldn’t wait to escape into. Highly recommended!” — Kendare Blake, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Three Dark Crowns series

★ “Masterful. From start to finish, this magical debut is not to be missed.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

“Powerful. Captivating. Heart-wrenching. Rena Barron has crafted a thrilling, twisty, unputdownable epic about a complex, brave young woman who must find the true magic within herself in order to fight for her family, her people, and her life.” — Samira Ahmed, New York Times  bestselling author of Love, Hate & Other Filters  and Internment

“A tough-as-nails protagonist overcomes odds stacked heavily against her in this captivating debut.” — Booklist

“Barron’s lush prose and boundless imagination enchant the reader with a vivid world, compelling characters, and twists to keep you reading all night. Kingdom of Souls  spellbinds with fresh and dazzling magic.” — Elly Blake, New York Times  bestselling author of Frostblood

“Set in a lushly drawn and fresh magical world, Kingdom of Souls  was a wild, heart-wrenching ride. Every turn took me by surprise, and these unforgettable characters face a complex evil that threatens from both without and within. Readers won’t be able to put this one down.” — Mindee Arnett, award-winning author of Onyx & Ivory

“Lush, captivating, and full of my favorite things: a vivid world, a cast of compelling characters, and a young heroine ready to rise and fearlessly fight for her beliefs. This powerful coming of age story lingers long after the final page.” —  Rebecca Ross, author of The Queen’s Rising

“Crackling with tension, this masterpiece of escalating stakes doesn’t pull its punches.” — Rebecca Schaeffer, author of Not Even Bones  

“Driven by intricate mythology with meddlesome, vengeful gods. Fantasy fans will find a refreshing, beautifully crafted setting in this novel.”
Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

HarperTeen, 9780062871169, 448pp.

Publication Date: April 11, 2023



About the Author

Rena Barron grew up in small-town Alabama, where stories of magic and adventure sparked her imagination. After penning her first awful poem in middle school, she graduated to writing short stories and novels by high school. Rena has an affinity for good cheese, wine, and nature. When she’s not writing, she can be found reading or brushing up on her French. Find her online at www.renabarron.com.