When You Ask Me Where I'm Going (Hardcover)

By Jasmin Kaur

HarperCollins, 9780062912619, 256pp.

Publication Date: October 1, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
Compact Disc (10/1/2019)
Pre-Recorded Audio Player (10/1/2019)
Compact Disc (10/1/2019)
MP3 CD (10/1/2019)

List Price: 18.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Elizabeth Acevedo, Jasmin Kaur’s stunning debut novel is a collection of poetry, illustrations, and prose.

scream
so that one day
a hundred years from now
another sister will not have to
dry her tears wondering
where in history
she lost her voice

The six sections of the book explore what it means to be a young woman living in a world that doesn’t always hear her and tell the story of Kiran as she flees a history of trauma and raises her daughter, Sahaara, while living undocumented in North America.

Delving into current cultural conversations including sexual assault, mental health, feminism, and immigration, this narrative of resilience, healing, empowerment, and love will galvanize readers to fight for what is right in their world.



About the Author

Jasmin Kaur is a writer, illustrator, and spoken word artist living in Vancouver, BC. Her writing, which explores feminism, social empowerment, love, and survival, acts as a means of healing and reclaiming identity. As an arts facilitator and fourth-grade teacher, Jasmin has been leading creative writing workshops for young people across North America, the UK, and Australia over the past fi ve years. Visit her online at www.jasminkaur.com.



Praise For When You Ask Me Where I'm Going

“Kaur’s debut collection explores what it means to be a young woman in a world that not only fails to hear her but that often refuses to see her. The novel begins with poems that are more than pretty words; they carry weight and breathe fire. Power is reclaimed through self-acceptance and love.”
— ALA Booklist

“Kaur’s elegant and informative poetry and prose packs a powerful punch. The gentle words empathize with and encourage readers, uplifting the soul, and praising every woman’s spirit.”
— School Library Journal

“Kaur’s poetry delivers moments of startling clarity and light, lyrically describing the experience of a population rarely visible in Western literature.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“A searing and gorgeous debut. This book made me feel seen, but it also educated me—it’s sure to provoke many necessary and meaningful conversations.”
— Jasmine Warga, author of Other Words For Home and My Heart and Other Black Holes

“An emotional journey that will enlighten, inspire and empower readers everywhere.”
— Amanda Lovelace, bestselling author of the princess saves herself in this onethe witch doesn’t burn in this one and the mermaid’s voice returns in this one

“Kaur weaves a captivating narrative that reminds us of what it means to be raw, to be powerful, to be beautifully unique—beautifully human. So many people need this book. I’m one of them.”
— Kristin Cast, #1 New York Times and #1 USA Today bestselling author of the House of Night series, The Dysasters, and the forthcoming The Key

“Jasmin Kaur epitomizes a powerful, assertive, and unapologetic voice, speaking candidly about the deep, dark, and hidden while maintaining a tone of optimism and resilience. As she challenges expectations and brutal truths, Jasmin offers an insightful commentary on the world from her eyes that is bound to resonate.”
— Madisen Kuhn, author of 18 Years, Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better, and forthcoming Almost Home

“Jasmin Kaur’s work is divine and essential. She sees you and then hands you the mirror to see yourself. There is a sweet, fierce and true vulnerability in every piece. Cling to this book, it is honest and it will bring you home to yourself.”
— Upile Chisala, author of soft magic, nectar, and the forthcoming A Fire Like You

“A fierce reminder of the irreplaceable and irrepressible nature of our own voices and the power they hold.”
— Trista Mateer, author of Honeybee, The Dogs I Have Kissed and forthcoming Aphrodite Made Me Do It

“Gut-wrenching and awe-inspiring. Jasmin Kaur writes the type of poetry that you never want to stop reading, that makes you want to cry, laugh, stop and think, scream, and then tell your stories and speak your truth without apology. This book will change you.” 
— Layla Saad, author of the forthcoming Me and White Supremacy

“Raw and introspective, both painful and uplifting to read, When You Ask Me Where I’m Going seamlessly conveys a vast spectrum of emotions in a very real way that the reader can easily connect with.”
— The Nerd Daily