Skip to main content


What Happens Next

Claire Swinarski

Hardcover

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (4/27/2021)
Compact Disc (5/19/2020)
MP3 CD (5/19/2020)

Description

In this heartfelt and accessible middle grade novel perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, a young girl throws herself into solving a local mystery to keep from missing her older sister, who has been sent to an eating disorder treatment facility.

Astronomy-obsessed Abby McCourt should be thrilled about the solar eclipse her small town of Moose Junction is about to witness, but she’s not. After her older sister Blair was sent away for an eating disorder, Abby has been in a funk.

Desperate to dull the pain her sister’s absence has left, she teams up with a visiting astronomer to help track down his long-lost telescope. Though this is supposed to take Abby’s mind off the distance between her and Blair, what she finds may bring her closer to her sister than she ever thought possible.



Praise For What Happens Next

"Well drawn. A promising debut novel."
Booklist

"Claire Swinarski investigates the meaning of family and sisterhood through the eyes of a 12-year-old who finds she hasn't really known the sisters she thought she knew."
The Lakeland Times

HarperCollins, 9780062912671, 256pp.

Publication Date: May 19, 2020



About the Author

Claire Swinarski was born and raised in Wisconsin, where she still lives with her husband and two kids. Her work has appeared in the Washington Post, Seventeen, Good Housekeeping, and many other publications. She has a degree in journalism from the University of Wisconsin–Madison and is probably either wandering through a library or sitting by a lake at this very moment. To learn more about Claire, visit her online at www.claireswinarski.com.