Skip to main content
Cover for Chunky

Chunky

Yehudi Mercado, Yehudi Mercado (Illustrator)

Paperback

List Price: 12.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (6/22/2021)

July/August 2021 Kids Indie Next List

“Laugh-out-loud from beginning to end. Kids will sympathize with Hudi as he seeks a sport to suit him, finally deciding to stick to comedy. Great pace, engaging visuals, and non-stop jokes make this the next favorite for fans of Shannon Hale, Mac Barnett, and Raina Telgemeier.”
— Cecilia Cackley, East City Bookshop, Washington, DC
View the List

Description

In this full-color middle grade graphic memoir for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jerry Craft, Yehudi Mercado draws inspiration from his childhood struggle with his weight while finding friendship with his imaginary mascot, Chunky, as he navigates growing up in a working class Mexican-Jewish family.

Hudi needs to lose weight, according to his doctors. Concerned about the serious medical issue Hudi had when he was younger, his parents push him to try out for sports. Hudi would rather do anything else, but then he meets Chunky, his imaginary friend and mascot. Together, they decide to give baseball a shot. 

As the only Mexican and Jewish kid in his neighborhood, Hudi has found the cheerleader he never had. Baseball doesn’t go well (unless getting hit by the ball counts), but the two friends have a great time drawing and making jokes. While Hudi’s parents keep trying to find the right sport for Hudi, Chunky encourages him to pursue his true love—comedy.

But when Hudi’s dad loses his job, it gets harder for Hudi to chart his own course, even with Chunky’s guidance. Can Chunky help Hudi stay true to himself or will this friendship strike out?



Praise For Chunky

"Relatable insights into the life of a child who is eager to fit in but also coming into his sense of self, sometimes with the help of adults and sometimes in spite of them. A compelling coming-of-age memoir."
— School Library Journal (starred review)

"Hudi’s a master at deflecting his shaky self-esteem with zingy one-liners. The digital artwork and sports scenarios play for laughs. Mercado notes in closing remarks, “Being ‘Chunky’ isn’t about being fat. Being Chunky is about feeling like you don’t fit in.” And that’s a theme plenty of middle graders can relate to."
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"As good-natured a romp as its highly appealing main character. The art evokes a light tone with simple, effective characteristics. A swift, funny tale."
Booklist

Katherine Tegen Books, 9780062972781, 208pp.

Publication Date: June 22, 2021



About the Author

Yehudi Mercado is a former pizza delivery driver and art director for Disney Interactive. He is currently a writer-artist-animator living in Los Angeles. His books include Sci-Fu, Hero Hotel, Rocket Salvage, and Fun Fun Fun World. He is currently show running the Hero Hotel podcast and writing and directing an original animated short for Nickelodeon. You can find him at www.supermercado.pizza.



Yehudi Mercado is a former pizza delivery driver and art director for Disney Interactive. He is currently a writer-artist-animator living in Los Angeles. His books include Sci-Fu, Hero Hotel, Rocket Salvage, and Fun Fun Fun World. He is currently show running the Hero Hotel podcast and writing and directing an original animated short for Nickelodeon. You can find him at www.supermercado.pizza.