Skip to main content


The Eighth Girl

A Novel

Maxine Mei-Fung Chung

Paperback

List Price: 30.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (3/16/2021)
Hardcover (3/17/2020)

Description

Optioned by Netflix and a most anticipated book of 2020 from Bustle, The Rumpus, Electric Literature, and LitHub!

An unsettling, seductive psychological thriller about a young woman with multiple personalities, perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes and Clare Mackintosh

"An electrifying, thought-provoking, and unflinching novel." —Jean Kwok, New York Times bestselling author of Searching for Sylvie Lee

“An exceptional debut from a talented author.” —Clare Mackintosh, New York Times bestselling author of I Let You Go

Beautiful. Damaged. Destructive. Meet Alexa Wú, a brilliant yet darkly self-aware young woman whose chaotic life is controlled by a series of alternate personalities.

When Alexa’s friend Ella gets a job at a high-end gentlemen’s club, she catches the attention of its shark-like owner and is gradually drawn into his inner circle. As Alexa’s world becomes intimately entangled with Ella’s, she soon finds herself the unwitting keeper of a nightmarish secret as she follows Ella into London’s cruel underbelly. Threatened and vulnerable, Alexa will discover whether her multiple personalities are her greatest asset, or her most dangerous obstacle.

Electrifying and breathlessly compulsive, The Eighth Girl is an omnivorous examination of life with mental illness and the acute trauma of living in a misogynist world. With bingeable prose and a clinician’s expertise, Chung’s psychological debut deftly explores identity, innocence, and the fracturing weight that young women are forced to carry, causing us to ask: Does the truth lead to self-discovery, or to self-destruction?



Praise For The Eighth Girl: A Novel

“Chung does an excellent job balancing the ensuing dramatic tension with a sharp portrayal of [dissociative identity] disorder, which also plays a crucial role in building suspense.”
Los Angeles Times

“An authentic and heart-rending page-turner. An exceptional debut from a talented author. I can't wait to see what she writes next.” 
— Clare Macintosh, New York Times bestselling author of I Let You Go

“[S]tunning and disturbing…Chung’s compelling debut plumbs the depths of trauma and its long-lasting effects on the human psyche.”
Library Journal

"[D]ark and disturbing, this psychological thriller, told in the voice of multiple unreliable narrators, is filled with surprises until the end, and is a fresh take on the suspense genre."
Booklist

“[A] fascinating debut.”
Kirkus Reviews

"Fans of psychological thrillers will be curious to see what Mei-Fung Chung comes up with next."
Publishers Weekly

“I am so impressed. I love Chung’s writing: The sheer joy she takes in the tones of the separate personalities, and the skill of her negotiation of what is actually a very complicated plot. It’s a brave and ambitious book.”
— Sabine Durrant, author of Remember Me This Way

“Intricately plotted and sensitively written, The Eighth Girl draws the reader into the dark heart of London’s underworld with relentless tension until the shock of the final reveal.” 
— Harriet Tyce, author of Blood Orange

“Deftly written by an author whose professional expertise shines through, I was captivated by The Eighth Girl. A dark and disturbing tale set in London’s gritty underbelly, The Eighth Girl asks big questions about identity, truth and society.”
— Adam Hamdy, author of Black 13

“A multilayered and compelling exploration of Dissociative Identity Disorder. The author’s expertise of the subject is clear. Intelligent, sensitive and totally engrossing.”
— Will Dean, author of the Tuva Moodyson Series

"In The Eighth Girl, Maxine Chung has created a searing portrait of a young woman with multiple personalities who is drawn into London's underbelly. An electrifying, thought-provoking and unflinching novel."
— Jean Kwok, New York Times bestselling author of Searching for Sylvie Lee

“The second I finished this impressive debut, I went back to the beginning and read it again: I defy anyone else to do otherwise.” 
— The Observer

HarperLuxe, 9780062978967, 640pp.

Publication Date: March 17, 2020



About the Author

Maxine Mei-Fung Chun > is a psychoanalytic psychotherapist and clinical supervisor. Trained in the arts, she worked as a Creative Director for ten years at Condé Nast, The Sunday Times and The Times. She lives in London with her son. The Eighth Girl is her first novel.