Skip to main content
Cover for Secondhand Dogs

Secondhand Dogs

Carolyn Crimi

Hardcover

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (7/5/2021)
MP3 CD (7/6/2021)
Compact Disc (7/6/2021)

Description

A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what it means to be part of a family—from author Carolyn Crimi, with adorable illustrations by Melissa Manwill. Perfect for fans of A Dog’s Life and Because of Winn-Dixie.

Miss Lottie’s home was for second chances.

When she adopted Gus, Roo, Tank, and Moon Pie, Miss Lottie rescued each member of the pack—including herself, her helper, Quinn, and her reclusive cat, Ghost—and turned them into a family. But when a new dog, Decker, arrives and tries to hoard Miss Lottie’s heart and home for himself, the pack’s future is threatened.

At first, Gus, the insecure pack leader, only notices little things, like tiny Moon Pie being kicked out of the bed and Ghost acting spooked (then again…Ghost is a cat). But things soon go from bad to worse as Decker’s presence causes disharmony in the group.

When Decker convinces Moon Pie to embark on an impossible journey, it’s up to Gus to gather his courage, rally his splintered pack, and bring the little dog home. And with coyotes and cars on the loose, the pack must push through obstacles and dangers to reunite with Moon Pie before he can get hurt—or, nearly as bad, get his heart broken.



Praise For Secondhand Dogs

"Pervading themes of bullying, leadership, loyalty, and family—among humans and canines alike—raise important issues while the comic-style illustrations feature character cameos and highlight key scenes. A sensitive, satisfying, and intriguing canine tale" 
Kirkus Reviews

Balzer + Bray, 9780062989185, 256pp.

Publication Date: July 6, 2021



About the Author

Carolyn Crimi received her MFA in writing for children from Vermont College in 2000.She has published over fifteen books, including Dear Tabby, Don’t Need Friends, Boris and Bella, Henry & the Buccaneer Bunnies, Where’s My Mummy?, and I Am the Boss of This Chair. Her book There Might Be Lobsters won the Golden Kite Award in 2018 for Picture Book Text, and her middle grade debut, Weird Little Robots, was named a BEA Book Buzz pick. Carolyn has received over thirty state awards and award nominations and was given the Prairie State Award in 2012 for her body of work.