Skip to main content


The Flip Side

A Novel

James Bailey

Paperback

List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Compact Disc (11/17/2020)
MP3 CD (11/17/2020)

Description

Penny wise or pound foolish? A heartbroken young Brit decides to turn his love life over to the flip of a coin—in this delightfully British rom-com in the vein of Jenny Colgan, Rosie Curtis, Nick Hornby, and David Nicholls.

To coin a phrase, Josh is suffering a quarter-life crisis. He just broke up with his long-term girlfriend, lost his job, and moved back home with his parents (shudder). Welcome to rock bottom in Bristol. As Josh starts questioning all his life choices, he has a mad thought: Maybe he would just be better flipping a coin. After all, careful planning has landed him homeless, jobless, and single.

What starts as a joke soon becomes serious and Josh decides to start putting his faith in the capriciousness of currency. He doesn’t have anything to lose.

But when the chance of a lifetime and the girl of his dreams are on the line, will the coin guide him to a rich love life or leave him flat broke?



Praise For The Flip Side: A Novel

"British author Bailey presents a heartwarming, laugh-out-loud hilarious debut rom-com. Complete with fabulous sidekicks, quirky neighbors, and an eccentric but lovable family, it features an authentic and refreshing hero. Fans of Beth O’Leary and Nick Hornby will relish every delightful moment."
Library Journal

"Romcom fans will fall in love with the cheeky charm and wry wit of Bailey’s infectiously fun debut, which offers readers a delightfully bloke-centered counterpart to Bridget Jones and her diary."

Booklist

William Morrow Paperbacks, 9780063019393, 384pp.

Publication Date: November 17, 2020



About the Author

James Bailey was born in Bristol, England, and currently lives and works in his home city. A graduate of King's College London, James has previously carried the Olympic torch, made a speech at the House of Commons, and worked as a red-carpet reporter. The Flip Side is his debut novel.