Skip to main content

Marvin One Too Many

Katherine Paterson, Jane Clark Brown (Illustrator)


List Price: 3.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Share the love of reading with your beginner reader!

I Can Read books are widely recognised as the premier line of beginner readers. Inaugurated in 1957 with Else Holmelund Minarik's Little Bear, illustrated by Maurice Sendak, the series has grown to over 200 titles, which include mysteries, adventure stories, poetry, historical fiction and humour. Featuring award–winning authors and illustrators, and a fabulous cast of classic characters, I Can Read books introduce children to the joy of reading independently.

It is the first day of school, and Marvin is scared. Everyone seems to know where to go – except Marvin. Everyone seems to have a place in class – except Marvin. And everyone seems to know how to read – except Marvin. Marvin's struggle with reading will ring true to reluctant and eager readers alike, and all will share his triumph in Katherine Paterson's reassuring story, the third about this popular character.

Ages 5–7

HarperCollins, 9780064442794, 48pp.

Publication Date: July 1, 2003