John Keats, Selected Poems (Paperback)

By John Keats, John Barnard (Editor)

Penguin Books, 9780140424478, 275pp.

Publication Date: November 27, 2007



A selection of Keats's greatest poems
Over the course of his short life, John Keats (1795-1821) honed a raw talent into a brilliant poetic maturity. By the end of his brief career, he had written poems of such beauty, imagination and generosity of spirit, that he had - unwittingly - fulfilled his wish that he should be among the English poets after my death . This wide-ranging selection of Keats's poetry contains youthful verse, such as his earliest known poem Imitation of Spenser; poems from his celebrated collection of 1820 - including Lamia, Isabella, The Eve of St Agnes, Ode to a Nightingale and Hyperion - and later celebrated works such as La Belle Dame sans Merci . Also included are many poems considered by Keats to be lesser work, but which illustrate his more earthy, playful side and superb ear for everyday language.
For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

About the Author

John Keats (1795-1821) is one of the greatest English poets and a key figure in the Romantic Movement. He has become the epitome of the young, beautiful, doomed poet. He wrote, among others, 'The Eve of St Agnes', 'La Belle Dame Sans Merci', 'Ode to a Nightingale' and 'To Autumn'. The group of five odes, which include 'Ode to a Nightingale', are ranked among the greatest short poems in the English language.