The Sorcerer of the North (Paperback)

Book Five (Ranger's Apprentice #5)

By John Flanagan

Puffin Books, 9780142414293, 336pp.

Publication Date: June 25, 2009

Other Editions of This Title:
Prebound (7/1/2009)

List Price: 8.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The international bestselling series with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone!

Several years have passed since the apprentice and his master, Will and Halt, first met, and Will is finally a full-fledged Ranger with his own fief to look after. The fief seems sleepy?boring, even?until Lord Syron, master of a castle far in the north, is struck down by a mysterious illness. Joined by his friend Alyss, Will is suddenly thrown headfirst into an extraordinary adventure, investigating fears of sorcery and trying to determine who is loyal to Lord Syron. As Will battles growing hysteria, traitors, and most of all, time, Alyss is taken hostage, and Will is forced to make a desperate choice between his mission and his friend.
Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings, T.H. White’s The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones/A Song of Ice and Fire series.



About the Author

John Flanagan grew up in Sydney, Australia, hoping to be a writer. John began writing Ranger’s Apprentice for his son, Michael, ten years ago, and is still hard at work on the series and its spinoff, Brotherband Chronicles. He currently lives in the suburb of Manly, Australia, with his wife. In addition to their son, they have two grown daughters and four grandsons.


Praise For The Sorcerer of the North: Book Five (Ranger's Apprentice #5)

The last few years have seen the publication of many fantasies, but few have the appeal of this original story. -Booklist, starred review, for The Ruins of Gorlan