Life of Zarf (Paperback)

The Troll Who Cried Wolf

By Rob Harrell

Puffin Books, 9780147511720, 288pp.

Publication Date: August 23, 2016

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (9/29/2015)

List Price: 7.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Fractured fairy tales meet modern day middle school in book two of this hilarious series that’s perfect for fans of Shrek, Dork Diaries, and Wimpy Kid.

Even after rescuing the king, Zarf is scum on the bottom rung of the middle school social ladder. After all, he is still a troll. But at least he still has his two best friends, Kevin and Chester . . . until Kevin disappears, that is. It seems a band of wolves are seeking revenge for the constant disgrace they’ve suffered over the years, and Little Red Ridinghood’s kid might be next on their list. Now it’s up to Zarf to crank out a solution from that troll brain of his, and save his best friend before it’s too late. 

Award-winning comic creator Rob Harrell has middle-grade humor mastered. This second book in his Life of Zarf series is packed with even more witty one-liners and clever twists on classic folk and fairytales. It's perfect for fans of Chris Colfer's Land of Stories series.

Praise for Life of Zarf: The Trouble with Weasels:

"Entertainingly goofy. A promising series kickoff full of off-kilter action and humor." —Publishers Weekly

"A Wimpy Kid format with a fairy-tale twist? Yes, this is bound to be a hit." —Booklist


About the Author

Rob Harrell writes and draws the long-running daily comic strip Adam@Home, which appears in more than 140 papers worldwide. He also created and drew the internationally syndicated comic strip Big Top until 2007. Rob recently published his first middle grade graphic novel, Monster on the Hill, which Kirkus called a "deliciously cinematic...indie charmer" in a starred review. He lives with his wife in Austin, Texas.


Praise For Life of Zarf: The Troll Who Cried Wolf

Praise for Life of Zarf: The Troll Who Cried Wolf: 

"Harrell tells the tale Wimpy Kid-style with punch lines, much of the dialogue, and snarky asides...delivered by a cast of deadpan cartoon figures." —Kirkus Reviews

"Gather up all of your preteen boys and booktalk this title immediately!" — School Library Connection

"This zippy illustrated novel merges fairy tales and middle-schoolangst skillfully." —Booklist


Life of Zarf: The Trouble with Weasels
Accolades:

A 2014 BEA Buzz Pannel selection

“Entertainingly goofy. A promising series kickoff full of off-kilter action and humor.” —Publishers Weekly

"A Wimpy Kid format with a fairy-tale twist? Yes, this is bound to be a hit... This is a witty twist on ordinary school-day troubles, and Harrell’s turning of familiar fairy-tale tropes on their heads adds to the charm (and a lot to the amusement factor)...this ought to find a sweet spot at the nexus betweenfans of humor and fans of fractured fantasies."—Booklist