The Secrets of Blueberries, Brothers, Moose & Me (Paperback)

By Sara Nickerson

Puffin Books, 9780147511799, 336pp.

Publication Date: April 5, 2016

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (7/21/2015)

List Price: 8.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A moving story of finding yourself in the face of big changes--ideal for fans of Judy Blume, Fish in a Tree, and Counting by 7s

To make some extra money, twelve-year-old Missy and her older brother Patrick get summer jobs picking blueberries at a local farm. For Missy, though, it's about more than just money-- it's the perfect distraction from the fact that her two best friends have gone off to summer camp without her and that her dad is getting remarried. She'd love for everything to stay the way it is, but she soon discovers that the summer is full of secrets: the secrets to making her family feel whole again; the secrets to keeping her two best friends from changing and leaving her behind; the secrets of a local farm's blood feud; and most importantly, the secrets of blueberries.

"A sampling of classic summer adventure."--The New York Times

"This tale is as sweet as summer blueberries."--Detroit Free Press


About the Author

Sara Nickerson started her career as a writer and producer for television and film. During a screenwriting class at the University of Washington she wrote her first novel How To Disappear Completely and Never Be Found. She lives in Seattle with her husband and sons.


Praise For The Secrets of Blueberries, Brothers, Moose & Me

"Heart-rendingly unflagging in the face of life-changing events, Missy's a funny, compelling heroine that readers will cheer for.” —Kirkus Reviews

"[A] quiet, deftly written coming-of-age novel." —School Library Journal

"The Secrets of Blueberries is a new twist on growing up." —VOYA