Under a Painted Sky (Paperback)

By Stacey Lee

Speak, 9780147511843, 384pp.

Publication Date: March 1, 2016

Advertisement

Description

From the author of Outrun the Moon, Stacey Lee's debut novel is a powerful story about love, friendship, and sacrifice. Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

"This moving novel will captivate you."--Buzzfeed.com

All Samantha wanted was to move back to New York and pursue her music, which was difficult enough being a Chinese girl in Missouri, 1849. Then her fate takes a turn for the worse after a tragic accident leaves her with nothing and she breaks the law in self-defense. With help from Annamae, a runaway slave she met at the scene of her crime, the two flee town for the unknown frontier.
But life on the Oregon Trail is unsafe for two girls. Disguised as Sammy and Andy, two boys heading for the California gold rush, each search for a link to their past and struggle to avoid any unwanted attention. Until they merge paths with a band of cowboys turned allies, and Samantha can't stop herself from falling for one. But the law is closing in on them and new setbacks come each day, and the girls will quickly learn there are not many places one can hide on the open trail.

Winner of the SCBWI Crystal Kite Award
An ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick
An Amelia Bloomer Book



About the Author

Stacey Lee (www.staceyhlee.com) is a fourth generation Chinese-American. A southern California native, she graduated from UCLA and got her law degree at UC Davis King Hall. Now, she plays classical piano, raises children, and writes YA fiction. Stacey lives outside San Francisco, California. Follow her on Twitter: @staceyleeauthor
Advertisement