Skip to main content
Cover for The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Penguin Clothbound Classics)

The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Penguin Clothbound Classics)

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Iain Pears (Introduction by), Ed Glinert (Notes by), Coralie Bickford-Smith (Illustrator)


List Price: 23.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (9/15/2017)
Hardcover (9/25/2019)
Paperback (7/12/2019)
Hardcover (10/10/2018)
Paperback (7/13/2014)
Paperback (5/1/2012)
Paperback (2/25/2016)
Paperback (3/10/2013)
Paperback (3/5/2014)
Hardcover (10/22/2018)
Paperback (2/2/2016)
Paperback (10/9/2018)
Paperback (10/14/1892)


A collection of the most famous cases faced by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's peerless creation, now in a beautiful hardcover edition designed by Coralie Bickford-Smith

This collection of The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes and the Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes includes many of the famous cases - and great strokes of brilliance - that made the legendary detective one of fiction's most popular creations. With his devoted amanuensis Dr Watson, Holmes emerges from his smoke-filled room in Baker Street to grapple with the forces of treachery, intrigue and evil in such cases as 'The Speckled Band', in which a terrified woman begs their help in solving the mystery surrounding her sister's death, or 'A Scandal in Bohemia', which portrays a European king blackmailed by his mistress. In 'Silver Blaze' the pair investigate the disappearance of a racehorse and the violent murder of its trainer, while in 'The Final Problem' Holmes at last comes face to face with his nemesis, the diabolical Professor Moriarty - 'the Napoleon of crime'.

Praise For The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Penguin Clothbound Classics)

“For the past decade, Penguin has been producing handsome hardcover versions of their classics (…) both elegant and quirky in shocks of bright color” 
The New York Times

Penguin Classics, 9780241347782, 576pp.

Publication Date: November 13, 2018

About the Author

Arthur Conan Doyle (1859-1930) was born in Edinburgh and took a degree in medicine at Edinburgh University before becoming a doctor in Southsea. He began writing detective stories to supplement his income and A Study in Scarlet (1887) introduced his finest creation, the hawk-eyed detective, Sherlock Holmes.

Iain Pears is the best-selling author of six detective novels, including An Instance of the Finger Post.

Ed Glinert is a journalist and writer.