The Pen/O. Henry Prize Stories: The Best Stories of the Year (Paperback)

The Best Stories of the Year

By Laura Furman (Editor), A. M. Homes (Essay by), Manuel Munoz (Essay by)

Anchor Books, 9780307472373, 403pp.

Publication Date: April 19, 2011



"The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories 2011 "contains twenty unforgettable stories selected from hundreds of literary magazines. The winning tales take place in such far-flung locales as Madagascar, Nantucket, a Midwestern meth lab, Antarctica, and a post-apocalyptic England, and feature a fascinating array of characters: aging jazzmen, avalanche researchers, a South African wild child, and a mute actor in silent films. Also included are essays from the eminent jurors on their favorite stories, observations from the winners on what inspired them, and an extensive resource list of magazines.
"Your Fate Hurtles Down at You"
Jim Shepard
"Diary of an Interesting Year"
Helen Simpson
Judy Doenges
" "
Kenneth Calhoun
" "
"The Restoration of the Villa Where Tibor KAlmAn Once Lived"
Tamas Dobozy
Lily Tuck
"How to Leave Hialeah"
Jennine CapO Crucet
"The Junction"
David Means
" "
Pole, Pole
Susan Minot
" "
"Alamo Plaza"
Brad Watson
" "
"The Black Square "
Chris Adrian
"Nothing of Consequence"
Jane Delury
"The Rules Are the Rules"
Adam Foulds
" "
"The Vanishing American"
Leslie Parry
" "
Mark Slouka
" "
"Bed Death"
Lori Ostlund
Brian Evenson
" "
Lynn Freed
" "
"Never Come Back"
Elizabeth Tallent
" "
"Something You Can't Live Without"
Matthew Neill Null
For author interviews, photos, and more, go to
" "
A portion of the proceeds from this book will go to support the PEN Readers & Writers Literary Outreach Program.

About the Author

Laura Furman, series editor of "The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories" since 2003, is the winner of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts for her fiction. The author of seven books, including her recent story collection "The Mother Who Stayed," she taught writing for many years at the University of Texas at Austin. She lives in Central Texas.

Praise For The Pen/O. Henry Prize Stories: The Best Stories of the Year

“Widely regarded as the nation’s most prestigious awards for short fiction.” —The Atlantic Monthly