A Good Hanging: Short Stories (Hardcover)

Short Stories

By Ian Rankin

Minotaur Books, 9780312280277, 320pp.

Publication Date: December 7, 2010



Twelve remarkable, gritty stories starring Detective Inspector John Rebus in his home city of Edinburgh, as only Ian Rankin can portray it: not just the tearooms and cobbled streets of the tourist brochures, but a modern urban metropolis with a full range of criminals and their victims--blackmailers, peeping Toms, and more than one kind of murderer. It's a city like any other, a city that gives birth to crimes of passion, accidents, and long-hidden jealousy, and a city in which criminal minds find it all too easy to fade into the shadows. As dedicated readers of the series well know, nobody is better equipped to delve into Edinburgh's back alleys and smoky pubs than Rebus, and no one better able to illuminate his world than Ian Rankin.

About the Author

Born in Scotland in 1960, "Ian Rankin" graduated from the University of Edinburgh and has since been employed as a grape picker, swineherd, taxman, alcohol researcher, hi-fi journalist, and punk musician.

Since publishing his first Rebus novel, "Knots and Crosses," in 1987, the series has become phenomenally successful, with each new installment a runaway bestseller in the United Kingdom. Ian has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and is also a past winner of the Chandler-Fulbright Award. "Black & Blue" won the Crime Writers Association's Gold Dagger Award for best novel of the year in 1997.

He lives in Edinburgh, Scotland, with his wife and their two sons.

Praise For A Good Hanging: Short Stories

"A...but beautifully written series." -- The New York Times Book Review