Skip to main content
Cover for The Year's Best Science Fiction

The Year's Best Science Fiction

Twentieth Annual Collection

Gardner Dozois (Editor)


List Price: 34.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Widely regarded as the one essential book for every science fiction fan, The Year's Best Science Fiction (Winner of the 2002 Locus Award for Best Anthology) continues to uphold its standard of excellence with more than two dozen stories representing the previous year's best SF writing. This year's volume includes Ian R. MacLeod, Nancy Kress, Greg Egan, Maureen F. McHugh, Robert Reed, Paul McAuley, Michael Swanwick, Robert Silverberg, Charles Stross, John Kessel, Gregory Benford and many other talented authors of SF, as well as thorough summations of the year and a recommended reading list.

Praise For The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twentieth Annual Collection

“Hugo-winner Dozois presents SF that is both provocative and literate in this respected annual anthology…. Exotic settings, memorable characters and challenging themes are par for the course here. Once again Dozois has gathered together a stunning array of the best in shorter SF.” —Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

“Without question, the Dozois SF annuals deserve rosettes…. For all libraries, absolutely.” —Kirkus Reviews

St. Martin's Griffin, 9780312308605, 672pp.

Publication Date: July 23, 2003

About the Author

Gardner Dozois (1947-2018), one of the most acclaimed editors in science-fiction, won the Hugo Award for Best Editor 15 times. He was the editor of Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine for 20 years. He also served as the editor of The Year’s Best Science Fiction anthologies and co-editor of the Warrior anthologies, Songs of the Dying Earth, and many others. As a writer, Dozois twice won the Nebula Award for best short story. He was inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame in 2011 and received the Skylark Award for Lifetime Achievement. He lived in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.