Skip to main content
Cover for Our Lady of Pain

Our Lady of Pain

An Edwardian Murder Mystery

M. C. Beaton


List Price: 22.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Lady Rose Summer, the wayward Edwardian debutante who keeps getting mixed up in disreputable adventures, would swear she is not a jealous woman. After all, she knows her engagement to private detective Captain Harry Cathcart is only a ploy to keep her parents from shipping her off to India to find a husband. But then Harry's latest client, Dolores Duval---a vision of curves with a seductive French accent---starts appearing everywhere at his side. And that changes everything.
In a fit of rage, Rose threatens Dolores, only to be found the very next day, standing over her dead body. The newspapers rush to convict her, but can Harry and Superintendent Kerridge of Scotland Yard clear Rose's name and put the real murderer behind bars?
Filled with drawing-room scandal and murderous intrigue, Our Lady of Pain is a delightful addition to Marion Chesney's beloved Edwardian mystery series.

Praise For Our Lady of Pain: An Edwardian Murder Mystery

Praise for the Edwardian Mysteries of Marion Chesney

"If you missed the first novel in this series, get it right away."
---The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

Sick of Shadows
"A tidy and well-executed mystery/historical with strong overtones of romance: light entertainment for all collections."
---Library Journal

"A lighthearted romantic romp through Edwardian snobbery, with hints of the cataclysmic changes in store for high society substituting for any serious mystery."
---Kirkus Reviews

"An entertaining and charming tale…a fantastic Edwardian amateur sleuth mystery."
---Midwest Book Review

Hasty Death
"Once again Chesney has concocted an amusing brew of mystery and romance that will keep her fans turning the pages."
---Publishers Weekly

"Another cozy charmer."
---Library Journal

"If you are a fan of well-written traditional mysteries, Lord Peter, and Albert Campion, you might want to try this series."
---Reviewing the Evidence

Minotaur Books, 9780312329686, 224pp.

Publication Date: April 4, 2006

About the Author

Marion Chesney, the widely acclaimed author of historical romances, also writes the popular Agatha Raisin and Hamish Macbeth mystery series under the name M. C. Beaton. This is the fourth book in her Edwardian murder mystery series. Born in Scotland, she currently divides her time between the English Cotswolds and Paris.