The Ravenscar Dynasty (Mass Market Paperbound)

By Barbara Taylor Bradford

St. Martin's Press, 9780312354664, 556pp.

Publication Date: July 31, 2007

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (12/25/2006)
Digital Audiobook (12/25/2006)
Paperback (7/31/2007)
Hardcover (12/26/2006)

List Price: 7.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Bestselling author Barbara Taylor Bradford introduced the illustrious Harte family in her blockbuster A Woman of Substance. Now she has created a powerful new cast of characters whose lives are filled with drama and danger, romance and revenge: the Deravenels.

When Cecily Deravenel tells her eighteen-year-old son Edward of the death of his father, brother, uncle, and cousin in a fire, a part of Edward dies as well. Not only is he too young to shoulder the responsibility for an entire family, Edward is also suspicious of the deaths. So he vows to seek the truth. Avenge the deaths. And retake control of their global business empire.

As he grows into a handsome, charismatic man, Edward is torn between duty and desire. There are women in his life for whom he'll risk everything and one woman who might destroy him. But madness and secrecy lie at the heart of the family, and Edward's enemies are far more ruthless than he knows. He will need his strength more than ever when the house of Deravenel is fatally rocked by betrayal from within. Who will become the ultimate ruler of the Deravenels?

About the Author

Barbara Taylor Bradford is the author of 25 bestselling novels, including Playing the Game, Breaking the Rules, and Being Elizabeth. She was born in Leeds, England, and from an early age, she was a voracious reader: at age 12, she had already read all of Dickens and the Bronte sisters. By the age of twenty, she was an editor and columnist on Fleet Street. She published her first novel, A Woman of Substance, in 1979, and it has become an enduring bestseller. Barbara Taylor Bradford's books are published in over 90 countries in 40 languages, with sales figures in excess of 82 million. Ten of her novels have been adapted into television mini-series starring actors including Sir Anthony Hopkins, Liam Neeson, Deborah Kerr and Elizabeth Hurley. She has been inducted into the Writers Hall of Fame of America, and in June of 2007, Barbara was awarded an OBE (Order of the British Empire) by Queen Elizabeth II for her contributions to Literature. She lives in New York City with her husband, television producer Robert Bradford, to whom all her novels are dedicated, and their Bichon Frise dogs, who sit under her desk while she writes.

Praise For The Ravenscar Dynasty

"The queen of the sweeping saga is back with what promises to be another of her blockbuster series."--The Gazette (Montreal)
 "Bradford's characters are so real, readers clamor to know them better."
--USA Today  "A wonderful,, historical tale starring a strong cast...readers who appreciate deep, early twentienth-century eipcs will enjoy."--Feminist Review
"Her most exciting series yet...It's filled with romance, suspense and intrigue, and the richly detailed characters come vibrantly alive as expert pacing captures your attention from the very first page."--RomanticTimes BOOKreviews, Top Pick
"A plot rich with period detail."--Pubishers Weekly
"The Ravenscar Dynasty has it all--power, betrayal, mystery...The characters are all complex, dynamic, and powerful, leading us through Edward Deravenel's struggles one exciting step at a time."--Romance Reviews Today
"Bradford's fiction has long focused on strong heroines who succeed against great odds. Her latest novel, The Ravenscar the first of a planned trilogy of novels, all destined for best-sellerdom."--Seattle Post-Intelligencer
"Those sorry to see the [Harte] drama conclude will be happy to have a new saga to sink their teeth into."--Booklist