Skip to main content


Talking with My Mouth Full

Crab Cakes, Bundt Cakes, and Other Kitchen Stories

Bonny Wolf, Scott Turow (Foreword by)

Paperback

List Price: 22.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (10/31/2006)

Description

"As reassuring as a big bowl of buttery mashed potatoes…a delicious read."
Library Journal

What and how do American families really eat? Bonny Wolf writes about the great regional and family food traditions in this country—birthday cake and dinner party food, hearty American breakfasts and Fourth of July picnic dishes. In Talking with My Mouth Full, she writes stories about food, and also about the people who eat it.

Many of the delightful national treasures Wolf writes about—bundt cake, barbecue, roast chicken, fair food—are timeless. Each chapter, whether it's about true regional specialties like Minnesota's wild rice, Texas' Blue Bell ice cream or Maryland's famous crab cakes or about family favorites like noodle pudding or Irish raisin soda bread, ends with a perfectly chosen group of recipes, tantalizing and time-tested.

In the tradition of Laurie Colwin's Home Cooking, Talking with My Mouth Full is a book you will turn to over and over for wonderful food writing and recipes for comfort food, a great nosh, or the ideal covered dish to take to a potluck supper.

"Charming, lighthearted…refreshingly accessible."—Publishers Weekly
"Savory collection of essays."—Washington Post
"Delightful."—Austin Chronicle



Praise For Talking with My Mouth Full: Crab Cakes, Bundt Cakes, and Other Kitchen Stories

“As reassuring as a big bowl of buttery mashed potatoes.” —Library Journal

“Bonny Wolf is an anthropologist of the kitchen.” —Washingtonian Magazine

“Offers a fine fix for comfort food seekers, and then some.” —The Washington Times

“Savory collection of essays.” —Washington Post

“Stuffed with experiences of cooking--and eating...a perfect time to reflect on our love for the food our mothers fed us.” —Richmond Times Dispatch

“Charming...boasts an infectious appreciation for the dowdier dishes of the last century...If you think you would never consider making cake with pistachio pudding mix, this book will change your mind.” —Entertainment Weekly

St. Martin's Griffin, 9780312373856, 272pp.

Publication Date: October 2, 2007



About the Author

Bonny Wolf is a journalist who has worked as a reporter and editor at newspapers in New Jersey, Texas and Washington, D.C., where she lives. She has been a food commentator for National Public Radio’s Weekend Edition since 2003, is the host for NPR’s food podcast “Kitchen Window” and writes a food column for the Washington Post. She is the author of the book Talking with My Mouth Full.

Scott Turow is the author of worldwide bestselling novels including Presumed Innocent, Innocent, Ordinary Heroes, The Burden of Proof, Reversible Errors and Limitations. His works of nonfiction include One L, his journal from his first year at law school, and Ultimate Punishment, which he wrote after serving on the Illinois commission that investigated the administration of the death penalty and influenced Governor George Ryan’s unprecedented commutation of the sentences of 164 death row inmates on his last day in office. Ultimate Punishment won the Robert F. Kennedy Book Award. He lives outside Chicago, where he is partner in the firm of SNR Denton (formerly Sonnenschein, Nath & Rosenthal).