The Draining Lake (Paperback)

An Inspector Erlendur Novel (An Inspector Erlendur Series #4)

By Arnaldur Indridason

Picador, 9780312428587, 336pp.

Publication Date: September 1, 2009

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (8/22/2013)
Hardcover (9/30/2008)

List Price: 19.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

November 2008 Indie Next List

“As the waters of Lake Kleifarvatn mysteriously drain, a skeleton is exposed, and Erlendur Sveinsson, dedicated to the point of obsession to finding missing persons, is called in to try to identify the remains. An intricate and satisfying mystery and thriller set against the backgrounds of modern Reykjavik and Cold War-era Leipzig.”
— Allen Moore, City Lights Bookstore, Sylva, NC
View the List


Inspector Erlendur returns in this international Bestseller

Following an earthquake, the water level of an Icelandic lake suddenly falls, revealing a skeleton. Inspector Erlendur's investigation takes him back to the Cold War era, when bright, left-wing students in Iceland were sent to study in the "heavenly state" of Communist East Germany. Teeming with spies and informants, though, their "heavenly state" becomes a nightmare of betrayal and murder. Brilliantly weaving international espionage and a chilling cold case investigation, The Draining Lake is Arnaldur Indridason at his best.

About the Author

ARNALDUR INDRIÐASON won the CWA Gold Dagger Award for Silence of the Grave and is the only author to win the Glass Key Award for Best Nordic Crime Novel two years in a row, for Jar City and Silence of the Grave. Strange Shores was nominated for the 2014 CWA Gold Dagger Award.

Praise For The Draining Lake: An Inspector Erlendur Novel (An Inspector Erlendur Series #4)

“[A] remarkable series.” —The New York Times Book Review

“Indridason keeps readers guessing . . . until the very last pages of this moody investigation.” —The Washington Post Book World

“The missing-persons theme and the exploration of Icelandic history and society remain the trademarks of this outstanding series; this time the addition of international espionage will remind readers of Henning Mankell in The White Lioness and The Dogs of Riga.” —Booklist

“This is exceptional fiction that transcends its genre.” —Library Journal

“An undiluted pleasure . . . This series places Indridason at the center of the best of contemporary crime fiction. He is a master storyteller and has a real gift for evoking the complex humanity at the heart of the most dour-seeming individuals.” —The Guardian (UK)

“A book as subtle and moving as it is suspenseful.” —The Wall Street Journal