Piper Reed Gets a Job (Paperback)

By Kimberly Willis Holt, Christine Davenier (Illustrator)

Square Fish, 9780312608811, 176pp.

Publication Date: June 22, 2010

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (8/18/2009)
Compact Disc (8/25/2009)

List Price: 6.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Piper Reed and her fellow Gypsy Club members are in need of a clubhouse. Raising money to buy one proves a challenge. Piper, being the resourceful fifth grader that she is, launches her own party-planning business and gets her first job throwing young Brady’s birthday celebration. But things don’t go as expected on the day of the big event. Fortunately for Piper, her friends and family come to her rescue!



About the Author

Kimberly Willis Holt is the author of the Piper Reed series, including "Piper Reed, Navy Brat," "Piper Reed, Clubhouse Queen," and "Piper Reed, Rodeo Star." She has written many award-winning novels, including "The Water Seeker" and "My Louisiana Sky," as well as the picture books "Waiting for Gregory" and "Skinny Brown Dog." A former Navy brat herself, Holt was born in Pensacola, Florida, and lived all over the U.S. and the world--from Paris to Norfolk to Guam to New Orleans. Holt long dreamed of being a writer, but first worked as a radio news director, marketed a water park, and was an interior decorator, among other jobs. A few years after she started writing, her third book, "When Zachary Beaver Came to Town," won a National Book Award for Young People's Literature. She resides in West Texas with her family. Christine Davenier has illustrated numerous children's books, and won a "New York Times" Best Illustrated Award for "The First Thing My Mama Told Me." She lives in Paris, France.


Praise For Piper Reed Gets a Job

“This book is a good addition to the series and is also a natural for fans of Clementine or Judy Moody, as well as readers ready to step beyond Junie B. Jones.”—School Library Journal
“Here, as in the other chapter books in the Piper Reed series, Holt balances serious moments with wit and creates a convincingly childlike sensibility throughout most of the episodic story. Appearing on most double-page spreads, Davenier’s lively drawings help bring the characters to life.”—Booklist