The Devil's Odds: A Mystery (Hardcover)

A Mystery

By Milton T. Burton

Minotaur Books, 9780312643355, 272pp.

Publication Date: February 28, 2012

Advertisement

Description

A rip-roaring mystery set in 1940s Texas, featuring a Texas Ranger and the New Orleans Mafia.  December, 1942. Texas Ranger Virgil Tucker receives a plea for protection from Madeline Kimbell, a terrified young woman who witnessed a crime. Keeping Madeline safe from the men who want to hurt her turns out to be harder than he imagined. When a prominent attorney is murdered, Virgil is drawn into the dangerous world of the New Orleans Mafia as the top mob bosses try to take over  alveston’s gambling empire. Chockfull of Southern charm, this book is perfect for fans of historical
mysteries and for anyone who loves Texas.



About the Author

MILTON T. BURTON was born in Jacksonville, Texas, and is a lifelong resident of the area. He has been variously a cattleman, a political consultant, and a college history teacher. He lives in Tyler, Texas.


Praise For The Devil's Odds: A Mystery

Praise for Nights of the Red Moon:
“A lively and well-crafted plot...It made me glad to return to East Texas.”—Patrick Anderson, The Washington Post
“Burton’s rip-snorting third mystery will appeal to fans of Bill Crider, Ben Rehder, and Kinky Friedman.”—Publishers Weekly (starred)
“Burton takes a sure hand to the small-town politics, paperwork hassles and easy authority of an East Texas lawman’s life.”—Houston Chronicle
“An outstanding example of Texas noir.”—Gumshoe Review
“A tasty slice of local pie.”—The Austin American-Statesman

Advertisement