Mystery Writers of America Presents Vengeance (Paperback)

By Mystery Writers of America Inc, Child, Lee Child (Editor)

Little Brown and Company, 9780316176354, 402pp.

Publication Date: April 9, 2013

List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


When a different kind of justice is needed---swift, effective, and personal---a new type of avenger must take action. VENGEANCE features new stories by bestselling crime writers including Lee Child, Michael Connelly, Dennis Lehane, and Karin Slaughter, as well as some of today's brightest rising talents.
The heroes in these stories include a cop who's seen too much, a woman who has been pushed too far, or just an ordinary person doing what the law will not. Some call them vigilantes, others claim they are just another brand of criminal.
Edited and with an introduction by Lee Child, these stories reveal the shocking consequences when men and women take the law into their own hands.
Full list of contributors:
Alafair Burke
Lee Child
Michael Connelly
Mike Cooper
Brendan DuBois
Jim Fusilli
Michelle Gagnon
Darrell James
C.E. Lawrence
Dennis Lehane
Steve Liskow
Rick McMahan
Adam Meyer
Dreda Say Mitchell
Michael Niemann
Twist Phelan
Zoe Sharp
Karin Slaughter
Orest Stelmach
Anne Swardson
Janice Law Trecker.

About the Author

Lee Child is the author of the "New York Times "bestselling series of Jack Reacher thrillers. His debut, " Killing Floor, " won both the Anthony and the Barry awards for Best First Mystery, and "The Enemy" won both the Barry and Nero awards for Best Novel. Child, a native of England and a former television director, lives in New York City.""

Praise For Mystery Writers of America Presents Vengeance

"High quality... the writing is top-notch."
-Publishers Weekly

"This is one of the strongest and most impressive original collections to appear in a long time."

"Each contributor has brought his or her 'A' game to the proceedings, and the results will keep you reading one after the other.... Vengeance is a collection you will want to read, keep and re-read."

"A pretty impressive showing."
-Library Journal