The Loose Ends List (Paperback)

By Carrie Firestone

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 9780316382830, 368pp.

Publication Date: May 9, 2017

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (6/7/2016)

List Price: 9.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Now in paperback, the funny, "poignant and important" (Kirkus, starred review) novel about first loves, last wishes, and letting go.

Seventeen-year-old Maddie O'Neill Levine is primed to spend the perfect summer with her best friends and beloved young-at-heart grandmother. But Maddie's plans change when Gram announces that she is terminally ill and has booked the family on a secret "death with dignity" cruise to leave the world on her own terms-and give the O'Neill clan a trip of dreams come true in the process.

Soon, Maddie is on the trip of a lifetime with her over-the-top family where she bonds with other passengers and falls for Enzo, who is processing his own grief. But despite the laughter, glamorous destinations, and headiness of first love, Maddie knows she is on the brink of losing Gram. She struggles to find the strength to say goodbye in a whirlwind summer shaped by loss and love.


About the Author

Carrie Firestone is a former New York City high school teacher who now lives and writes in Connecticut.


Praise For The Loose Ends List

* "Maddie's first-person account is filled with humor and fun, introducing readers to a raunchy, heartwarming, and endearingly dysfunctional family. Best of all is the achingly romantic love story that unexpectedly blossoms between Maddie and a fellow shipmate and lends the story much-appreciated moments of passion and levity. A poignant and important story about compassion, love, and the decision to live life on your own terms--right up to the very last minute."—Kirkus Reviews

Filled with equal amounts of laugh- and tear-inducing moments, this debut novel will be impossible to put down. Fans of Jenny Downham's Before I Die or Jonathan Tropper's This Is Where I Leave You will enjoy this unique story about dying on one's own terms. With its fresh, original plot and thought-provoking themes, this title will have a high teen appeal.
School Library Journal

"A bright, promising debut that will resonate."—Booklist

"A sweet story of a young girl growing and learning about the depths
that exist in everyone...Maddie is an accessible and relatable
character."—VOYA