Annex (The Violet Wars #1) (Paperback)

By Rich Larson

Orbit, 9780316416542, 368pp.

Publication Date: July 24, 2018

List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

"An exciting twist on a hostile-alien-takeover drama...exhilarating."--Washington Post

"An energetic, nonstop adventure."--Chicago Tribune

Independence Day meets Lord of the Flies in this "thrilling and imaginative" debut about two young outsiders forced to fight off alien invaders in a post-apocalyptic city. (Fonda Lee)

When the aliens invade, all seems lost. The world as they know it is destroyed. Their friends are kidnapped. Their families are changed.

But with no adults left to run things, young trans-girl Violet and her new friend Bo realize that they are free. Free to do whatever they want. Free to be whoever they want to be.

Except the invaders won't leave them alone for long...

This "warm, thrilling adventure about what happens after the end of the world" is for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Ann Leckie. (Cherie Priest)


About the Author

Rich Larson was born in Galmi, Niger, has studied in Rhode Island and worked in the south of Spain, and now lives in Ottawa, Canada. Since he began writing in 2011, he's sold over a hundred stories, the majority of them speculative fiction published in magazines like Asimov's, Analog, Clarkesworld, F&SF, Lightspeed, and Tor.com. His work appears in numerous Year's Best anthologies and has been translated into Chinese, Vietnamese, Polish, French and Italian.

Annex, his debut novel and first book of The Violet Wars trilogy, comes out in July 2018 from Orbit Books. Tomorrow Factory, his debut collection, follows in October 2018 from Talos Press. Besides writing, he enjoys travelling, learning languages, playing soccer, watching basketball, shooting pool, and dancing salsa and kizomba.




Praise For Annex (The Violet Wars #1)

"An exciting twist on a hostile-alien-takeover drama...exhilarating."—Washington Post

"Rich Larson has an amazing knack for capturing the lonesomeness of growing up, and how much random cruelty and steadfast companionship there is in childhood. Not to mention, just how alien and scary families can be."—Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky

"Annex's combination of a likable and diverse cast of characters with breakneck, engaging action-all against the background of an evocative and sinister world-make it an accomplished and impressive debut."—Booklist

"An energetic, nonstop adventure."—Chicago Tribune

"Annex is a ferocious sci-fi fairy tale--a warm, thrilling adventure about what happens after the end of the world. Both epic and intimate in equal measure, this one's a joy and a blast, from beginning to end."—Cherie Priest, author of Boneshaker and I Am Princess X

"Wunderkind Rich Larson's Annex gives us nonstop action set pieces as breathtakingly clever as they are relentless and a vivid, compelling cast. Sequels now, please!"—Mike Allen, author of Unseaming

"Rich Larson presents a uniquely compelling apocalypse--equal parts frightening and touching."—Alex White, author of A Big Ship at the Edge of the Universe

"A thrilling and imaginative entry into the alien invasion genre with two fierce and desperate young protagonists you won't be able to stop rooting for."—Fonda Lee, Nebula-nominated author of Jade City

"Larson's breakneck pace end up making [Annex] exhilarating, and well worth waiting for the next volume."—Locus

"Deftly plotted and packing a few interesting twists, Annex delivers."—Kirkus

"Insightful and piercing."—B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog