Dear Universe (Hardcover)

By Florence Gonsalves

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 9780316436731, 352pp.

Publication Date: May 12, 2020

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A wildly witty and deeply profound chronicle of teenage anxiety and yearning, perfect for fans of Jesse Andrews and Robyn Schneider.

It's senior year, and Chamomile Myles has whiplash from traveling between her two universes: school (the relentless countdown to prom, torturous college applications, and the mindless march toward an uncertain future) and home, where she wrestles a slow, bitter battle with her father's terminal illness. Enter Brendan, a man-bun-and tutu-wearing hospital volunteer with a penchant for absurdity, who strides boldly between her worlds--and helps her open up a new road between them.

Dear Universe is the dazzling follow-up to Florence Gonsalves's debut, Love and Other Carnivorous Plants, hailed by School Library Journal as "a must-have sharp, powerful, and witty immersion into the complexities of . . . mental health."


About the Author

Florence Gonsalves graduated from Dartmouth College in 2015, and after numerous jobs and internships, she finally decided to pursue her lifelong dream of becoming an author. Love & Other Carnivorous Plants, her debut novel, was a Booklist Editors' Choice selection. She invites you to visit her online at florencegonsalves.com.


Praise For Dear Universe

"Gonsalves' sympathetic and multidimensional portrait of a young woman facing major challenges will appeal to fans of John Green."—Booklist

Praise for Love & Other Carnivorous Plants:
Booklist Editors' Choice: Books for Youth 2018
A 2019 Rainbow Book List Selection

*"A pitch-perfect take on what happens when the future you imagined
doesn't live up to expectations.... This genuinely funny novel about
some harrowing topics manages to balance humor and pathos perfectly.
Readers who connected with J.J. Johnson's Believarexic or Sam J. Miller's The Art of Starving will want this book, as well as the many John Green fans who crave intelligent stories that occupy both shadow and light." --Booklist, starred review

"Fans of Sarah Dessen will appreciate Danny's relatable and realistic
journey. A must-have sharp, powerful, and witty immersion into the
complexities of sexual identity and mental health." --School Library Journal

"Gonsalves juggles multiple serious adolescent challenges with operatic
verve--eating disorders, substance abuse, sexual awakening and
orientation, mental health, grief.... A feel-good debut sure to interest
teens looking to feel better about not feeling so great." --Kirkus

"Gonsalves realistically conveys Danny's wide range of emotions.... Her
most profound realization comes through accepting that she can live her
life on her own terms and that she need not have it all figured out
quite yet." --Publishers Weekly

"Self-deprecating, witty.... As funny as it is painful." --VOYA

"A hilarious, thoughtful novel of trying to figure out loving other
people when it hurts, and loving yourself when it's impossible." --Teenreads.com

"Will appeal to students who deal with anxiety and the pressures of life that many teens face." --School Library Connection