The Tethered Mage (Swords and Fire #1) (Paperback)

By Melissa Caruso

Orbit, 9780316466875, 480pp.

Publication Date: October 24, 2017

Advertisement

Description

The Tethered Mage begins a spellbinding fantasy trilogy for fans of The Queen of the Tearling and The Red Queen, set in a world where magic is scarce and mages are bound in service to the Empire, to be used as weapons in times of war.
In the Raverran Empire, those born with magical power are strictly controlled -- taken as children and conscripted into the Falcon army.
Zaira has lived her life on the streets to avoid this fate, hiding her mage mark and thieving to survive. But hers is a rare and dangerous magic, one that threatens the entire Empire.
Lady Amalia Cornaro was never meant to be a Falconer. Heiress and scholar, she was born into a treacherous world of political machinations.
But fate has bound the heir and the mage. And as war looms on the horizon, a single spark could turn their city into a pyre.

The Swords and Fire series The Tethered MageThe Defiant Heir


About the Author

Melissa Caruso is a graduate of Brown University and University of Massachusetts - Amherst. She lives in Massachusetts, where she occasionally swordfights in a ballgown.
Advertisement