All the Lost Things (Hardcover)

A Novel

By Michelle Sacks

Little, Brown and Company, 9780316475457, 288pp.

Publication Date: June 4, 2019

List Price: 27.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In the tradition of Room and The Lovely Bones, an unforgettable young girl goes on a road trip adventure through the American south with her dad-- but what they're leaving behind is as important as what lies ahead.

Dolly is 7 years old. Her number-one all-time most-best friend is her stuffed horse, Clemesta. One sunny Saturday morning, Dad sweeps them both up into his arms and carries them off on a week-long road-trip adventure. Destination: the most special place ever!

The first days on the road are incredibly exciting. Dolly has never been allowed to miss school, or gone on a cross-country trip, or had Dad all to herself. They stop along the way for milkshakes and shopping sprees and a theme park. They get to sleep in motels, eat junk food, and watch cartoons on TV.

But as they get farther from home, Clemesta begins to whisper things in Dolly's ear. Things like, "We need to eat some vegetables," and "When do we get to see Mom?" As much as Dolly doesn't want to spoil the adventure, even she has to admit that things aren't quite right. Dad is acting strange, and sometimes scary, and he seems to think that someone might be following them.


About the Author

Michelle Sacks is the author of the novel You Were Made for This and the story collection, Stone Baby. She was born in South Africa, and holds a master's degree in literature and film from the University of Cape Town. Her fiction has been shortlisted for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize and for two South African PEN Literary Awards.


Praise For All the Lost Things: A Novel

Praise for You Were Made for This

"Riveting...Michelle Sacks richly explores marriage and parenting and delivers a brilliant, unflinching look at a household under siege from itself."—Associated Press

"2018 has already brought plenty of twisted, gripping thrillers about marriage, but be sure to leave room for Sacks' searing first novel. A picture-perfect family leading picture-perfect lives in Sweden is gradually, unnervingly unpeeled."—David Canfield, Entertainment Weekly

"Sacks deftly engages the complexities of motherhood, infidelity, and misconduct in this novel, but her storytelling shines most when Merry's alleged closest friend, Frank, arrives for a visit. Through the pair's toxic friendship, replete with jealousy and insecurities, Sacks explores the ways in which unhealthy relationships can wreak irrevocable damage on those involved--and everyone surrounding."—Megan McCluskey, TIME Magazine

"An engrossing tale that probes the darker corners of motherhood, friendship, and marriage."—Good Housekeeping

"Beguiling and frightening... Hard to read but also bewitchingly hard to put down."—Kirkus Reviews

"[An] unblinking look at beautiful people with ugly secrets."—Publishers Weekly

"The dark side of domesticity and motherhood... [You] will be swept up in the appearance of domestic bliss and maternal perfection, only to be left off-kilter and breathless."—Library Journal

"Insightful and skillfully constructed... this will keep readers rapt to the final page."—Booklist

"Margaret Atwood's Cat's Eye meets the set of a David Lynch film in this haunting, psychological portrait that takes the dark domestic thriller into a new, literary realm."—Shelf Awareness

"Full of heart-wrenching twists and turns... Richly compelling."—Jennifer McMahon, New York Times bestselling author of The Winter People

"A sinister, razor's edge of a book. I was, in turn, totally gripped, completely unsettled, and not just a little freaked out... You definitely won't be able to put it down."—Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of The Red Hunter

"A thrilling literary fairy tale from which you can't escape, not even after you've found your way back to the light of day... Dark and deceptive... [it will] fill your heart with dread at every turn."—Tim Johnston, New York Times bestselling author of Descent

"Obsession, loyalty, jealousy, and unspeakable secrets. The savage beauty ... will leave you shaken and bereft. It is a stunning accomplishment."—Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author of The Weight of Silence

"Complex and relatable... You Were Made for This plumbs the darkness that can lie at the core of the most intimate of relationships: between husband and wife, lifelong friends, even mother and child."—Heather Young, author of the Edgar Award finalist The Lost Girls