A Time of Dread (Of Blood & Bone #1) (Paperback)

By John Gwynne

Orbit, 9780316502245, 512pp.

Publication Date: February 20, 2018

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (2/19/2018)
Compact Disc (4/1/2018)
Compact Disc (2/20/2018)

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Acclaimed epic fantasy author John Gwynne returns with the first book in a new trilogy, perfect for fans of George R. R. Martin, Brandon Sanderson, and David Gemmell.

"A Time of Dread reminds me of why I became a fantasy enthusiast in the first place."--Robin Hobb

A race of warrior angels, the Ben-Elim, once vanquished a mighty demon horde. Now they rule the Banished lands, but their peace is brutally enforced.

In the south, hotheaded Riv is desperate to join the Ben-Elim's peacekeeping force, until she unearths a deadly secret.

In the west, the giantess Sig investigates demon sightings and discovers signs of an uprising and black magic.

And in the snowbound north, Drem, a trapper, finds mutilated corpses in the forests. The work of a predator, or something far darker?

It's a time of shifting loyalties and world-changing dangers. Difficult choices need to be made. Because in the shadows, demons are gathering, waiting for their time to rise...



About the Author

John Gwynne studied and lectured at Brighton University. He's been in a rock 'n' roll band, playing the double bass, traveled the USA and lived in Canada for a time. He is married with four children and lives in Eastbourne, running a small family business rejuvenating vintage furniture.


Praise For A Time of Dread (Of Blood & Bone #1)

"A Time of Dread reminds me of why I became a fantasy enthusiast in the first place. Fantasy can be an escape from reality, but some stories carry the reader to an enhanced reality, a place where the world seems to have brighter colors and sharper contrasts."—Robin Hobb

"The book reminded me in the very best way of the sort of fantasy I loved in years gone by. Exciting, well-written, swords and sorcery. Try it on for size."—Mark Lawrence

"Great evils, conflicted heroes, bloody battles, betrayal, and giants riding battle bears! What's not to love?"—Peter Newman

"I loved A Time of Dread and read it from cover to cover in two days. I couldn't put it down."—Miles Cameron

"Fans of epic fantasy have something to cheer about: A Time of Dread is marvelous. Gwynne's writing is superb, delivering not only twists and turns but also nuance and complexity."—Sebastien de Castell

"An accomplished and rousing tale of heroes and dark deed that fans of epic fantasy will devour."—Tom Lloyd

"A fierce, gripping tale, and one I found hugely enjoyable."—Anna Smith Spark