Skip to main content


Just Pretend

Tori Sharp

Hardcover

List Price: 24.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (5/18/2021)

Description

Fans of Real Friends and Be Prepared will love this energetic, affecting graphic memoir, in which a young girl uses her active imagination to navigate middle school as well as the fallout from her parents' divorce. 

Tori has never lived in just one world.

Since her parents' divorce, she's lived in both her mom's house and her dad's new apartment. And in both places, no matter how hard she tries, her family still treats her like a little kid. Then there's school, where friendships old and new are starting to feel more and more out of her hands.

Thankfully, she has books-and writing. And now the stories she makes up in her head just might save her when everything else around her—friendships, school, family—is falling apart.

Author Tori Sharp takes us with her on a journey through the many commonplace but complex issues of fractured families, as well as the beautiful fantasy narrative that helps her cope, gorgeously illustrated and full of magic, fairies, witches and lost and found friendships.


Praise For Just Pretend

"Just Pretend is a celebration of active imaginations everywhere, a grounded and relatable tale of family and friends with just a little bit of fantasy swirled in. Tori Sharp's charming story and polished art style will have readers enchanted from the first page."
--Whitney Gardner, author-illustrator of Fake Blood

Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 9780316538893, 320pp.

Publication Date: May 18, 2021



About the Author

Tori Sharp is a Seattle-based author-illustrator and swing and blues dancer with a BFA in sequential art from SCAD. You can find her online at www.noveltori.com and on Twitter @noveltori. Just Pretend is her debut graphic novel.