Skip to main content
Cover for A Life to Kill (Coroner Jenny Cooper series #7)

A Life to Kill (Coroner Jenny Cooper series #7)

Matthew Hall


List Price: 14.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (1/12/2017)
Hardcover (1/12/2017)


The day they've all been waiting for is at hand. The last British combat soldiers in Helmand are counting the minutes until their departure for home. For their excited families in Highcliffe, it spells the end of an agonizing six month wait. But in the final hours, disaster strikes. Nineteen-year-old Private Pete "Skippy" Lyons is abducted and the patrol sent out to locate him is ambushed. One killed, two injured. One still missing in action. Their loved ones are left desperate for answers the Army won't provide. How could Private Lyons have been snatched from a heavily fortified command post? And why are officers trying to disguise what happened during the mission to save him? Their only hope lies with Coroner Jenny Cooper, who must take on the full might of the military to stop the truth being buried along with the boy soldiers. But in a town filled with secrets and rumors, it's not only the Army that has something to hide. A Life to Kill is the seventh installment in the Coroner Jenny Cooper series.

Praise For A Life to Kill (Coroner Jenny Cooper series #7)

"Readers of Patricia Cornwell will very much enjoy this psychological thriller. Jenny Cooper's character is flawed and unflinchingly real. Highly recommended." —Library Journal starred review of The Redeemed

"An intriguingly flawed and appealing character. . . . A series to watch." —Booklist on The Disappeared

Pan Macmillan, 9780330530095, 464pp.

Publication Date: October 1, 2018

About the Author

Matthew Hall (formerly M. R. Hall) is an award-winning screenwriter and former barrister. A Life to Kill is the seventh novel in Matthew Hall's twice CWA Gold Dagger-shortlisted Coroner Jenny Cooper series, following The Coroner, The Disappeared, The Redeemed, The Flight, The Chosen Dead, The Burning and the prequel novella to the series, The Innocent.