Skip to main content


Clarinet and Trumpet (book with shaker)

Melanie Ellsworth, John Herzog (Illustrator)

Hardcover

List Price: 14.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A charming and funny picture book featuring the harmonious friendship between Clarinet and Trumpet. But what happens when their friendship falls flat? Featuring a music-making shaker built into the book! Perfect for fans of Stick & Stone and Spoon.

Clarinet and Trumpet are friends from the very first note. But their friendship falls flat when a new woodwind—Oboe—sets the tone in the music room. Trumpet tries everything to get Clarinet's attention again, but Clarinet doesn't change her tune. The story crescendos until the woodwinds face off against the brass section in an ear-splitting musical duel. How will Clarinet and Trumpet bring the band back together again and save their melodious friendship? With pun-filled text and emotive illustrations, Clarinet and Trumpet honors the important role music plays in creating community. Shake the book, and you can join the band, too!



Praise For Clarinet and Trumpet (book with shaker)

★ "A lyrical tour de force about individuality, friendship, and community, this humorous picture book highlights such values through musical instruments, showing how even small fractures can become deep divisions....readers of all ages will relate to the loss of friendship and how this can sometimes become an overall divisiveness within a once whole community."—School Library Journal, STARRED review

"Music aficionados and pun aficionados alike will appreciate the many musical puns interspersed throughout the text."—Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

HMH Books for Young Readers, 9780358107477, 32pp.

Publication Date: March 30, 2021



About the Author

Before becoming a children's book writer, Melanie Ellsworth worked as an ESL teacher in Boston's Chinatown and later as a literacy specialist in Maine, having earned a Master's of Education in Language and Literacy in 2002 from Harvard University. She lives in Maine with her family. Twitter: @melanieells Instagram: @melaniebellsworth


 

John Herzog is an award-winning illustrator and educator. He teaches illustration classes at Ringling College of Art and Design. John is a member of the Society of Illustrators and SCBWI, and received the 2018 SCBWI Magazine Merit Award for his Highlights High Five cover illustration. He lives in Florida with his wife, two kids, a pair of tarantulas, a bearded dragon, and a fish.