After the Shot Drops (Paperback)

By Randy Ribay

HMH Books for Young Readers, 9780358108061, 336pp.

Publication Date: January 21, 2020

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (3/6/2018)

List Price: 9.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A powerful novel about friendship, basketball, and one teen's mission to create a better life for his family in the tradition of Jason Reynolds and Walter Dean Myers, from National Book Award Finalist Randy Ribay. 

“Belongs on the shelf alongside contemporary heavy-hitters like Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give, Brendan Kiely and Jason Reynolds’s All-American Boys, and Nic Stone’s Dear Martin." —School Library Journal, starred review
   
Bunny and Nasir have been best friends forever, but when Bunny accepts an athletic scholarship across town, Nasir feels betrayed. While Bunny tries to fit in with his new, privileged peers, Nasir spends more time with his cousin, Wallace, who is being evicted. Nasir can't help but wonder why the neighborhood is falling over itself to help Bunny when Wallace is in trouble.

When Wallace makes a bet against Bunny, Nasir is faced with an impossible decision—maybe a dangerous one.  
 
Told from alternating perspectives, After the Shot Drops is a heart-pounding story about the responsibilities of great talent and the importance of compassion.


About the Author

Randy Ribay was born in the Philippines and raised in the Midwest on a diet of books and Pokémon cards. Ribay is the author of An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes. A graduate of the University of Colorado and the Harvard Graduate School of Education, Ribay is an English teacher at a private school in Palo Alto, California, and a reviewer for The Horn Book. He lives in Stanford, California.  
www.randyribay.com 
Twitter and Instagram @randyribay