Skip to main content


Finish the Fight!

The Brave and Revolutionary Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote

Veronica Chambers, The Staff of The New York Times

Hardcover

List Price: 18.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
MP3 CD (8/18/2020)
Compact Disc (8/18/2020)

Description

New York Times bestseller! 

Who was at the forefront of women's right to vote? We know a few famous names, like Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton, but what about so many others from diverse backgrounds—black, Asian, Latinx, Native American, and more—who helped lead the fight for suffrage? On the hundredth anniversary of the historic win for women's rights, it's time to celebrate the names and stories of the women whose stories have yet to be told.

Gorgeous portraits accompany biographies of such fierce but forgotten women as Yankton Dakota Sioux writer and advocate Zitkála-Šá, Mary Eliza Church Terrell, who cofounded the National Association of Colored Women (NACW), and Mabel Ping-Hua Lee, who, at just sixteen years old, helped lead the biggest parade in history to promote the cause of suffrage.

FINISH THE FIGHT will fit alongside important collections that tell the full story of America's fiercest women. Perfect for fans of GOOD NIGHT STORIES FOR REBEL GIRLS and BAD GIRLS THROUGHOUT HISTORY.
 


Praise For Finish the Fight!: The Brave and Revolutionary Women Who Fought for the Right to Vote

★ "Timely, moving, and necessary." - Kirkus 

★ "This informative book takes a refreshingly inclusive approach to the history of women’s voting rights in the United States...it widens the spotlight, profiling leaders who have represented minorities and describing the particular challenges they have faced as they worked to promote women’s suffrage." —Booklist, STARRED review

"Lushly illustrated." —The New York Times Book Review

"This collection of remarkable women will make for a thorough primary source for middle grade research projects... Recommended for school and public libraries, especially where whitewashed histories detailing the suffrage movement need updating." - School Library Journal 

"
Eye-catching." - The Horn Book

Versify, 9780358408307, 144pp.

Publication Date: August 18, 2020



About the Author

Veronica Chambers is the editor for Narrative Projects at The New York Times. She is a prolific author, best known for the New York Times-bestseller Finish the Fight!, which was named a best book of the year by The Washington Post, the New York Public Library, and others. Her other works include the critically acclaimed memoir Mama's Girl, Shirley Chisholm Is a Verb, and the anthologies The Meaning of Michelle—a collection by writers celebrating former first lady Michelle Obama—and Queen Bey: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter. Born in Panama and raised in Brooklyn, she writes often about her Afro-Latina heritage. She speaks, reads, and writes Spanish, but she is truly fluent in Spanglish. You can find her online at veronicachambers.com or on Twitter and Instagram @vvchambers.