Skip to main content
Cover for The Boy, the Wolf, and the Stars

The Boy, the Wolf, and the Stars

Shivaun Plozza

Paperback

List Price: 7.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (11/16/2020)
Hardcover (11/17/2020)

Description

A boy and fox go on a quest to find a wolf who has eaten all the stars in the sky before the Shadow Witch destroys the stars, removing good magic from the world forever. This compelling fantasy is perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Nevermoor.

Long ago, the land of Ulv was filled with magic. But that was before a wolf ate all the Stars in the night sky, ridding the world of magic and allowing Shadow Creatures, beasts made of shadow and evil, to flourish. Twelve-year-old Bo knows the stories but thinks the Stars and the wolf who ate them are nothing more than myths—until the day Bo’s guardian, Mads, is attacked by a giant wolf straight from the legends. With his dying breath, Mads tells Bo that Ulv is in danger and the only way to prevent the Shadow Creatures from taking over is to return the Stars to the sky.

And so Bo—accompanied by his best friend, a fox called Nix, a girl named Selene whose magic is tied to the return of the Stars, and Tam, a bird-woman who has vowed to protect Bo at all costs—sets off on a quest to find the three magical keys that will release the Stars. But Bo isn’t the only one who wants the Stars, and the friends soon find themselves fleeing angry villagers, greedy merchants, and a vengeful wolf. And all the while, an evil witch lurks in the shadows and time is running out.


Praise For The Boy, the Wolf, and the Stars

"A relentless plot keeps the pages turning"—Kirkus Reviews

"With this fanciful adventure, Plozza invokes the language of myth and fairy tales to construct a complex, heartwarming hero’s quest."—Publishers Weekly

"Readers who enjoy fantastical quests will happily tag along with Bo, who must solve riddles and survive many dangers during his journey."—Booklist

"Readers will want to have tissues handy for the conclusion.... A good choice for fans of Kelly Barnhill and Grace Lin."—BCCB

Clarion Books, 9780358732501, 384pp.

Publication Date: June 21, 2022



About the Author

Shivaun Plozza is the author of the critically acclaimed novel Frankie, which was a YALSA Teens Top 10 Pick and on the ALA's Best Fiction for Young Adults List, and Tin Heart, which was nominated to the ALA's Best Fiction for Young Adults List, as well as the middle grade novels The Boy, the Wolf, and the Stars and A Reluctant Witch's Guide to Magic. When she’s not writing, she works as an editor and manuscript assessor. She lives in Victoria, Australia, with her cat.
shivaunplozza.com
Twitter: @ShivaunPlozza
Instagram: @shivaunplozza