Beautiful Broken Girls (Hardcover)

By Kim Savage

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR), 9780374300593, 336pp.

Publication Date: February 21, 2017

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Remember the places you touched me.

Ben touched seven parts of Mira Cillo: her palm, hair, chest, cheek, lips, throat, and heart. It was the last one that broke her. After Mira's death, she sends Ben on a quest to find notes she left him in the seven places where they touched—notes that explain why she and her sister, Francesca, drowned themselves in the quarry lake. How Ben interprets those notes has everything to do with the way he was touched by a bad coach years ago. But the truth behind the girls’ suicides is far more complicated, involving a dangerous infatuation, a deadly miracle, and a crushing lie. BEAUTIFUL BROKEN GIRLS is a stunning release from Kim Savage, the author of the critically acclaimed After the Woods.



About the Author

Kim Savage is a former reporter who received her master’s degree in Journalism from Northeastern University. Her work includes the critically acclaimed novels After the Woods and Beautiful Broken Girls. Kim grew up in South Weymouth, Massachusetts, and lives north of Boston, not far from the real Middlesex Fells of After the Woods.


Praise For Beautiful Broken Girls

“Told through both Ben's and the girls' perspectives, the mystery unfolds with aching precision—both Ben's grief and the sisters' pain can be acutely traced as they grow. Even though the truth can be seen before it's revealed, the girls' secrets pack a gut punch that lingers. Haunting and mesmerizing.” —Kirkus, starred review

“Savage’s skillful writing makes the characters’ pain deep and tangible, offering readers the full impact of the deaths on the town. The novel is cleverly divided into chapters of the seven body parts, propelling the search for the next clue. Prepare to be shocked, and have plenty of tissues handy. Perfect for readers of Jay Asher’s Thirteen Reasons Why (2007).” —Booklist

"Readers who enjoy mysteries with a mix of inexplicable and all-too-human underpinnings will enjoy this." —Bulleting for the Center of Children's Books

“Readers looking for a unique, haunting mystery will certainly be drawn to this heartbreaking tale.” —VOYA