Death Sentence (Hardcover)

Escape from Furnace 3

By Alexander Gordon Smith

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR), 9780374324940, 272pp.

Publication Date: August 2, 2011

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (2/14/2012)
Compact Disc (8/2/2011)
Compact Disc (8/2/2011)
MP3 CD (8/25/2015)
MP3 CD (8/2/2011)
MP3 CD (8/2/2011)
Pre-Recorded Audio Player (11/1/2011)
Prebound (2/14/2012)

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Alex's second attempt to break out of Furnace Penetentiary has failed. This time his punishment will be much worse than before. Because in the hidden, bloodstained laboratories beneath the prison, he will be made into a monster. As the warden pumps something evil into his veins--a sinisterly dark nectar--Alex becomes what he most fears . . . a superhuman minion of Furnace. How can he escape when the darkness is inside him? How can he lead the way to freedom if he is lost to himself?



About the Author

Alexander Gordon Smith lives in Norwich, England. "The Stephen King of YA horror," he is the author of The Fury; The Inventors; the Escape from Furnace series, which has sold nearly half-a-million copies; and the Devil's Engine series.


Praise For Death Sentence: Escape from Furnace 3

“In this third installment of the Furnace series, Gordon-Smith has pulled out all the stops. It is a tour de force of action and adventure… Honestly, this reviewer could not put this book down, having thoroughly enjoyed all of the novels in this series, and will anxiously await the release of Fugitives: Escape from Furnace 4 due winter 2012. Please continue to wow us, Mr. Gordon Smith--your books are a pleasure to read.” —VOYA

“Fresh and ferocious, Lockdown will hook boys with its gritty, unrelenting surprises.” —James Patterson

Furnace is hotter than hell and twice as much fun! Sign me up for a life sentence of Alexander Gordon Smith!” —Darren Shan, author of the Demonata series

“This nightmarish start to a new series is unrelentingly bleak, uniquely horrifying, and strangely compelling.” —Realms of Fantasy magazine on the Escape from Furnace series

“A great next choice for fans of The Maze Runner, The Grassland Trilogy. . . or Lord of the Flies . . . Recommended for dystopia, thriller, and horror fans, or anyone looking for a fast-paced, spine-chilling ride.” —Jennifer Robinson's Bookpage on the Escape from Furnace series

“Readers will be turning pages without pause, and the cliff-hanger ending will have them anticipating the next installment. Most appealing is Smith's flowing writing style, filled with kid-speak, colorful adjectives, and amusing analogies. Fans of James Patterson's ‘Maximum Ride' and Darren Shan's ‘The Demonata' series will find this satisfying fare.” —School Library Journal on the Escape from Furnace series

“Not for the faint-hearted, this dramatic British import is both a page- and stomach-turner. . . The pacing is superb, building on the tension as each horror is revealed while saving the ultimate monstrosity for the cliffhanger ending.” —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books on the Escape from Furnace series

Lockdown is a beautifully written book that builds itself up on violence, suspense, and mystery.” —A YALSA YA Galley Teen Reader