Skip to main content
Cover for Marikit and the Ocean of Stars

Marikit and the Ocean of Stars

Caris Avendaño Cruz

Hardcover

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A magical middle grade debut, inspired by Filipino folklore, about a ten-year-old girl who embarks on a quest in the world of gods and spirits to save her and her family from a sinister shadow god. Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon and When You Trap a Tiger.

Marikit is used to wearing recycled clothes. Her mother, the best seamstress in the barrio, has become an expert at making do ever since Marikit’s father and brother were lost at sea. But for her tenth birthday, all Marikit wants is something new. So when her mother gifts her a patchwork dress stitched together with leftover scraps from her workshop, Marikit vows to never wear it. That is, until the eve of her birthday, when shadow creatures creep into their home, attempt to take Marikit away, and upend the very life she knew.

When she’s swept away from the human world, Marikit discovers that her dress is a map, one lovingly crafted to lead her to safety in the magical lands of the Engkantos. She trudges through the enchanted lands of mythical creatures, making friends out of monsters and challenging gods. With the help of her friends, including an exuberant firefly and a cursed boy, Marikit journeys through the land of the Engkantos to find the key to saving her family, all without being eaten alive.



Praise For Marikit and the Ocean of Stars

"Radiant and lyrical. Marikit and the Ocean of Stars is woven with love, each line shimmering with beautiful words, forming a timeless story that will find a place in readers' hearts." - Julie Abe, author of the Eva Evergreen series

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR), 9780374389093, 336pp.

Publication Date: October 18, 2022



About the Author

Caris Avendaño Cruz is a copywriter for internet brands and cool businesses, but her favorite things to write are magical stories led by kids of color. Marikit and the Ocean of Stars is her debut novel. She lives in Bulacan, Philippines and posts on Twitter and Instagram. Visit her website to learn more.